3099357 2ndcity goodbad 072613

The Good, The Bad and The I-5 Reviews

Mandell Weiss Forum (La Jolla, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

21 ratings
4.1 average rating
  • 11
    5
  • 6
    4
  • 2
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 2
    1
131 events
47 reviews
41 stars
attended Aug 07 2013

Second City had the San Diego audience laughing in (often painful) self-recognition with this brilliant sketch comedy show. Part rehearsed, part improvised with audience suggestion (and sometimes coercion), they feasted on the veritable buffet of...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
66 events
4 reviews
52 stars
attended Aug 27 2013

Hilarious! Could have used a microphone or better listening devices from the facility - the older couple sitting next to me kept saying "What did he say?" throughout the entire performance. Definitely worth going out to see!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Aug 27 2013

It was just OK for my wife and me. The set pieces were outdated with Filner won't quit and were not all that funny. What was really good was the improv. They needed more of that and less set pieces.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
5 reviews
1 stars
attended Aug 06 2013

A fun date night with my husband at a great venue. He and I both laughed our asses off!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
JB
8 events
4 reviews
4 stars
13 events
4 reviews
7 stars
attended Aug 28 2013

When going to LaJolla playhouse make sure you are early. Long lines to pay for parking will make you late

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 24 2013

great time. bought last minute tickets and had front row seats., though there isn't a bad seat at this theater.
very funny and creative show. highly recommend it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Aug 07 2013

Actors were terrific and jokes about Filner were due, however, I was wishing someone familiar with San Diego had given them more material, since after the first 5 minutes the material was so-so..

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 07 2013

The Second City group was fantastic. Much humor about our mayor,
but they also did a great deal of research in order to tickle us about other aspects of San Diego culture.
Consider yourself warned that there is much audience participation from...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
3 stars
attended Aug 28 2013

Very well done improve. Very germsin social comment. Material was current and poignant

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
3 stars
attended Aug 27 2013

The show was fabulous, the actors had as good a time as the audience. They were quick, clever and have raised the skill of thinking on one's feet to an art form. You could go every night and see a different show. Long live Second City!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Aug 27 2013

This was a hilarious evening out. The Second City folks really out did themselves. The audience participation segments were icing on the cake of an already terrific show. And you can't beat the ease and comfort of an event at the Playhouse.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Aug 24 2013

Very funny look at San Diego. Many times I was laughing so hard I
even missed a couple of lines of dialog. Audience interaction a real hoot! Years ago I saw Second City in Chicago, and this brought back many pleasant memories.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Aug 25 2013

We really enjoyed the show. The cast was great & we had lots of good laughs

star this review starred report as inappropriate