Lorca 042712

Ainadamar Reviews

Long Beach Performing Arts Center, Terrace Theater (Long Beach, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

13 ratings
3.9 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
2 events
2 reviews
3 stars
attended May 20 2012

I very much enjoyed the music and the singing, especially the Lorca role. But since it was about Lorca,I expected the libretto to be more poetic. I also found the staging to be dull.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
656 events
374 reviews
-362 stars
attended May 26 2012

Enjoyed the pre-show talk - well at least the parts in English... Theatrical staging, lead singers were quite strong. Great venue.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Skimeup Red Velvet
53 events
23 reviews
50 stars
attended May 20 2012

I am a huge fan of Long Beach Opera but at the reception afterwards, everyone seemed to feel that as good as LBO is, this was the best thing ever. A full lush orchestra, beautiful music, and great singing. More of a "music drama" than an opera.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
16 reviews
8 stars
attended May 26 2012

I don't always like modern opera, but I absolutely loved this one. As to the LBO, the singers and the orchestra were terrific. I am so glad I saw the offer on Goldstar as otherwise I wouldn't have known that it was being performed localy.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
10 reviews
5 stars
attended May 26 2012

Ainadamar is a reflection on the death of Federico Garcia Lorca told through the eyes of Margarita Xirgu, a celebrated actress and personal friend of the poet and playwright who kept his works alive. The opera beautifully executed by Long Beach...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
6 reviews
0 stars
attended May 20 2012

superb performance, voices, sets, music, libretto and basic concept concerning Federico Garcia-Lorca

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
3 reviews
12 stars
attended May 26 2012

Beautiful, exciting music, well played and sung. Odd staging.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended May 20 2012

Not to be missed! The music, orchestra and singers are marvelous. The lighting designer is a genius. This little opera company is able to do far more on a dime than LA Opera with its debauched mega-millions.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended May 26 2012

I saw this Opera the previous week, there were many details I wanted to see again therefore I decided not to miss the opportunity and see the performance the next week (it is not the first time I do this). The "mise en scene" was very different...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
4 stars
attended May 20 2012

horrible it was 90 minutes of torment

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended May 20 2012

Very static. The voices were good but they used amplification and it was hard to know where the voices were coming from! This is a chamber opera and perhaps the venue was too large.

star this review starred report as inappropriate