Wonderful 013114

'S Wonderful Reviews

Carpenter Performing Arts Center, CSULB (Long Beach, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

92 ratings
3.8 average rating
  • 28
    5
  • 33
    4
  • 21
    3
  • 7
    2
  • 3
    1
439 events
359 reviews
525 stars
attended Apr 17 2014

The music was great, of course, but this could have been far more enjoyable as a single act with one or two less vignettes. The singing and dancing were okay (one of the singers was out of her league). The venue itself was nice and friendly, and...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
451 events
172 reviews
60 stars
attended Apr 04 2014

We'll performed. Story line weak.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
171 events
138 reviews
2 stars
attended Apr 13 2014

The band was wonderful. The singing was well done. It felt very rushed and hyperactive to us. I love Gershwin music but did not like this presentation. Unfortunately, it was disappointing. bbmj
Good seats!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
87 events
55 reviews
9 stars
attended Apr 12 2014

The seats were good. The music was OK. The dancing was very good. The arrangements of Gershwin's music was not so good. All in all a pleasant evening but not great.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
64 events
43 reviews
13 stars
attended Apr 13 2014

The program was nice, but they tried to squeeze too much in in the 90 minutes presentation. the band was excellent the voices a little course.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
74 events
25 reviews
10 stars
41 events
18 reviews
7 stars
18 events
8 reviews
2 stars
attended Apr 17 2014

Great little story weaving Gershwin's most popular songs. I would see it again.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
7 reviews
12 stars
attended Apr 19 2014

great auditorium, good seats. very professional cast and did a good job weaving some story line in with the music. strong voices. enjoyed the afternoon and the drive to Long Beach which is not our usual venue.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
7 reviews
6 stars
attended Apr 05 2014

Musical Theater West never fails to impress. Loved the intimate settings and of course the music.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
3 reviews
4 stars
attended Apr 13 2014

The vignettes did not seem well connected so I couldn't get into the music. The vocalists were great though, but only a few songs were familiar. Left at intermission at consensus of group.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Apr 05 2014

This show was great! Loved on how they had 5 mini musicals and each one with the great music of Gershwin. Highly recommend it to anyone, even kids (10 and above). My 11 year old daughter enjoyed it very much and is now a Gershwin fan. My mom...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
205 events
98 reviews
9 stars
77 events
70 reviews
11 stars
attended Apr 05 2014

Seats were good inside this medium size venue. It was like mini-shows of Gershwin music.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
190 events
56 reviews
173 stars
Arnie Hershamn
68 events
46 reviews
28 stars
attended Apr 12 2014

Great music and fun show. The singers, dancing and vignettes were done well and it was an enjoyable night. Anyone who enjoys Gershwin great words and music will have fun.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
73 events
33 reviews
13 stars
attended Apr 05 2014

Beautifully staged, lots of energy, super voices, perfect little script devices for stringing the songs together. Now, if only the tunes were good.... just kidding. Those Gershwin boys show real promise.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
47 events
28 reviews
5 stars
attended Apr 13 2014

I loved many of the Gershwin songs they presented. The first skit was cute. Great band and pianist.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
27 reviews
1 stars
attended Apr 19 2014

it was enjoyable, amazing energy . the singers were good and band excellent.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
53 events
24 reviews
65 stars
attended Apr 13 2014

A fantastic performance. All five actors were terrific. Great music, beautiful voices, a wonderful six-piece band. I strongly recommend it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3