Sleeping beauty 110813 v3

Matthew Bourne's Sleeping Beauty Reviews

Ahmanson Theatre (Los Angeles, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

147 ratings
4.5 average rating
  • 98
    5
  • 34
    4
  • 10
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 4
    1
26 events
5 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 21 2013

Mathew Bourne's latest and last trio of Tchaikovsky's famous ballet's does not disappoint. From the costumes to the liberties he takes with the classic story, Bourne's breathes fresh air into a piece reminding us that dance and classical music...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
39 events
29 reviews
28 stars
attended Nov 26 2013

The performance was absolutely wonderful! My friend & I sat in the last row of the Mezzanine. The seats were acceptable for the view. Will Goldstar ever offer good orchestra seats?

star this review starred report as inappropriate
94 events
27 reviews
19 stars
attended Nov 26 2013

the production was excellent! loved the combination of past Sleeping Beauty stories,the choreography, costumes and needless to say, the choreography costumes And the "baby Aroura"!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
72 events
23 reviews
15 stars
attended Nov 24 2013

Fabulous loved it. A visual dessert! I loved the performances, the costuming, the sets a clever new twist on and old tale! Loved the use of the puppetry as well. The dancers agility was magnificent . Would highly recommend.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
19 reviews
20 stars
attended Nov 29 2013

The show was amazing - the whole experience was perfect. No problems picking up tickets at will-call, and I used the red line to save on parking costs. Just a short walk from Civic Center station!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
15 reviews
12 stars
attended Nov 26 2013

Amazing!! fantastic!! Gorgeous costumes, wonderful choreography, excellent dancing. A gem!!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
35 events
12 reviews
24 stars
attended Nov 23 2013

as usual, the seats were good, but i was disappointed in this production, especially compared to Mathew Bournes ground breaking Swan Lake. The choreography seemed confusing and the dancing uneven, and the costumes and sets overdone.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
12 reviews
4 stars
attended Dec 01 2013

I LOVED Swan Lake. Having seen 5 of Bourne's pieces, I found this new piece enchanting, but not as surprising and revelatory as his past work. But I had a good time.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
41 events
12 reviews
5 stars
attended Dec 01 2013

Modern, humorous, dark, gorgeous!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
75 events
10 reviews
8 stars
attended Nov 26 2013

This was a Beautiful, fabulous show! If I had been any closer, the music would have deafened me but had I been closer I would have been able to see the magnificent sets, costumes, make up and dancers better!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
32 events
8 reviews
4 stars
attended Nov 21 2013

Mathew Bourne is always great!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
7 reviews
0 stars
Stacy Red Velvet
65 events
6 reviews
315 stars
attended Nov 29 2013

I am not a big fan of ballet, and I absolutely loved this! It's a fresh twist with beautiful sets, costumes, and choreography. I definitely want to see Matthew Bourne's other works now!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
27 events
6 reviews
6 stars
attended Nov 24 2013

Matthew Bourne is, in my opinion, the greatest choreographers---ever. He takes classic, tradition, then adds brilliant movement, and costumes, with hard egdy, sexy, sometimes gay overtones. Except that the music is canned, every one of his...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 26 2013

It's beautifully executed... staging is creative, the dancing choreography is more contemporary than 'classic' (but, I liked that aspect), and takes quite a journey beyond the standard 'Sleeping Beauty.'

Nevertheless, I'm disappointed in the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 26 2013

This is not your typical Sleeping Beauty. Read the story line before you watch the show and you will be able to follow better. Choreography was amazing, beautiful costumes and wonderful props. The dancing was incredible. Great show!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
255 events
122 reviews
32 stars
attended Nov 27 2013

Absolutely incredible. Must see. amazing experience Bourne did it again.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
76 events
65 reviews
34 stars
attended Nov 23 2013

The costumes where great, the dancers were good, but the first half of the story line was a little hard to follow. Loved the musical choices, would recommend it, just with the warning that the first part of the story is a little unclear. The gold...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
72 events
43 reviews
11 stars
attended Nov 21 2013

Just a truly amazing show. Could not have loved it more. You want to know what it looks like when the entire Ahmanson gives a show a standing ovation? See this.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
32 events
24 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 29 2013

it was absolutely superb from the creativity, dancing, costumes and settings. he is the most imaginative choreographer today.

minor complaint, the music was too loud.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4