1406229369 scarela 082414

ScareLA Reviews

The Reef (Los Angeles, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

119 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 67
    5
  • 26
    4
  • 20
    3
  • 6
    2
  • 0
    1
72 events
25 reviews
1 stars
attended Aug 10 2013

One of the best 1st-year events I've ever been to. Huge; good demonstrations, excellent, detailed art; hands-on experience.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
223 events
62 reviews
125 stars
attended Aug 10 2014

WONDERFUL! I got to see Urban Death (AMAZING), Jimmy H's Magic and the Macabre seminar (TONS of useful information, and even free props!), and the vendors (especially artist Abigail Larson and model Ivonna Cadaver) will all helpful, hospitable...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
75 events
41 reviews
8 stars
attended Aug 10 2014

We had a great time at ScareLA. It was easy to find, parking was a breeze, they had a pretty quick will-call process, and there were very fun things to see and do. I got quite a few ideas for my house this upcoming Halloween season!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
71 events
40 reviews
33 stars
attended Aug 10 2013

it was all right. There were some interesting vendors on hand with stuff you don't see everywhere, and lots of the more conventional ones.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
73 events
26 reviews
71 stars
attended Aug 11 2013

Got to see how makeup was applied to masks and everything else that had to do with Halloween. Definitely learned alot and saw some cool looking costumes

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
15 reviews
4 stars
attended Aug 10 2013

This was fun... its first year so it wasn't very large but some nice exhibits and the 2014 show is supposed to be much larger.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
6 reviews
16 stars
attended Aug 10 2013

Didn't get a chance to use the ticket. Had to just eat it, but it was cheap so no big deal.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
31 events
19 reviews
20 stars
attended Aug 10 2014

First time for me, really didn't know what to expect . I will go back for sure next year with more time and money

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
10 reviews
1 stars
attended Aug 10 2013

It was the first year, but it was fun. I expect the convention to grow and each year to be bigger and better. I'd like to see more actors from scary movies to make it more exciting. Overall, we all had a pretty good time.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
9 reviews
29 stars
attended Aug 11 2013

As always dealing with Gold Star was smooth and easy and parking on Sunday was no problem. All the panels were good and the make up stations with people from past seasons of Face Off were top notch. Was a bit disapointed in some of the displays...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
7 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 10 2014

Had so much fun. Great things to see. So impressed with the Zombie and Brain Cake. Great to see Knott's Scary Farm representing. It seems this event gets bigger every year. Just Love It

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
7 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 10 2013

My sister attended with my nephew and my sons. They all loved it. Wished they could of attended on Sunday to see the creators of Knott's Scary Farm. They will definatly attend next year.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
6 reviews
6 stars
attended Aug 10 2013

Entertaining love halloween but thought there would be more like more haunted house props. Enjoyed it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
5 reviews
3 stars
attended Aug 10 2013

It was a lot of fun. There were great exhibits, the only thing I think could be added to complete the experience is piping in some Halloween sounding music and maybe dim the lights just a little bit. They are needed to see shopping etc. but they...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
5 reviews
9 stars
attended Aug 09 2014

Unfortunately, this was a poor experience. Event started at 11am, I got in line to enter at 10:15am, did not get inside until 11:10am. Missed the first panel discussion due to the crazy wait/line outside. The event should be held in a convention...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Jen
14 events
4 reviews
6 stars
attended Aug 10 2013

I love it! The vendors were all really cool, the workshops were awesome, and I especially loved seeing the special effects people transform before your eyes! My only complaint was with the panels -it was hard to hear with all of the noise around.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
4 reviews
20 stars
5 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 11 2013

Amazing!!! Five stars! lots of fun and props that will blow you away!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 09 2014

Fantastic. Professional and well organized. Highly recommend to Halloween enthusiasts and pseudo goths like myself.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
8 stars
attended Aug 10 2013

For fans of horror and Halloween like myself, this convention was great! For the price, you could go both days. Lots of talented people to see, fun booths to explore and top notch panels with the most anticipated guests. Loved it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3