Dances with songs 011309

Smuin Ballet: Fall/Winter Season Reviews

Mountain View Center for the Performing Arts - Main Stage (Mountain View, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

27 ratings
4.9 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
41 events
17 reviews
18 stars
attended Mar 01 2009

loved the event, however seats got expensive with the service charge and the seats were not that good

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
16 reviews
24 stars
attended Feb 28 2009

I've been attending Smuin ballets for about 7 or 8 years and have never been disappointed. Even my husband likes them! Goldstar makes it possible to see them even more frequently with their great prices. Smuin's shows are fun; dances have humor...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
24 events
15 reviews
7 stars
attended Feb 28 2009

The ballet was excellent. I have seen a no. of Smuin Ballet performances over the years but might not have gone this time if it were not for Goldstar.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
26 events
13 reviews
3 stars
attended Feb 27 2009

Always an interesting night-a variety of subjects and styles.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
10 reviews
8 stars
attended Feb 28 2009

Just wonderful. I'm not a big ballet fan, but I love Smuin shows. They use modern, popular music that we love, and modern, expressive choreography that we can enjoy.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
31 events
10 reviews
2 stars
attended Mar 01 2009

They are one of the most exciting dance companies to every come along. They are incredibly versitile, moving, funny and sensual. There Christmas Ballet is not to be missed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
8 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 28 2009

One of the best dance performances I've seen in a long time!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
8 reviews
4 stars
attended Feb 27 2009

Smuin Ballet is always a crowd-pleaser. Their approach is extremely innovative, and they connect very well with their audience.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
7 reviews
4 stars
attended Feb 27 2009

It's a wonderful ballet and so innovative. Very creative and performed by very skillful dancers. The seats were great too!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
7 reviews
9 stars
attended Mar 01 2009

They're an excellent ballet company. I highly recommend seeing them.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
24 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Feb 28 2009

A really great evening at the ballet!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
5 reviews
6 stars
attended Feb 28 2009

"Carmen, Dances with Songs" was a breath-taking explosion of dance, choreography, costumes, passion, and sensuality. You forget that men and women can walk, leap, spin, and dance with such grace and beauty.

Smuin Ballet excels at being...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
3 reviews
15 stars
attended Mar 01 2009

Wonderful pieces, talented performers. I especially loved the third section, short pieces set to old favorite songs by Nat King Cole and others. It was amusing, refreshing, and delightful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
4 stars
attended Mar 01 2009

Can't wait until May when Smuin comes back to Mountain View with another production!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Mar 01 2009

I absolutely loved the ballet! It wasn't what I expected at all! There was a little touch of traditional ballet, but barely - and I am grateful! I loved the more contemporary music that was used in this ballet, and all of the sensuous innuendos...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 28 2009

I love this local ballet troupe!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 28 2009

I prefer the San Jose Ballet group more than the Smuin.
Some of the ballets seem to be gymnastic events.
Carmen was too long.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Mar 01 2009

The Smuin offers inventive choreography and amazingly accomplished dancers. Their acting and comedic abilities match their balletic virtuousity. What a delight this program was. I can't wait for the spring season!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Mar 01 2009

As is true of all the Smuin Ballet performances, this performance was flawless, inspiring, and emotionally moving. I loved and am looking forward to the Spring program.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Feb 27 2009

Awesome and innovative. Highly recommend. Went for the Carmen (huge Miles fan) but actually enjoyed the frust and the pieces much more.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1