Truffles orchestra1

American Symphony Orchestra at Carnegie Hall: What Makes a Masterpiece Reviews

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage at Carnegie Hall (New York, NY)

Reviews & Ratings

13 ratings
4.1 average rating
  • 5
    5
  • 4
    4
  • 4
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
24 events
20 reviews
2 stars
attended Jan 25 2013

Amazing music as usual for AS.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
6 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 25 2013

The program--"What makes a Masterpiece?"--was a really interesting exploration of three pieces. The ASO was very good, though it sounded a little rough at parts.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
6 reviews
1 stars
attended Jan 25 2013

While waiting in the lobby, it was the same as waiting outside on frigid night. It was very uncomfortable, sadly. The symphony was absolutely breathtaking.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Jan 25 2013

Fascinating to hear the theme of the program.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
3 reviews
8 stars
4 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 25 2013

It was an excellent night out. We are not the biggest fan of classical music, however it was informative and enjoyable.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 25 2013

Leon Botstein LOVES his performance as an orchestra conductor! I LOVE his clear, concise and compassionate overview for the audience in the conductor's notes given before the performance. He is a true artist - blessed with a heart-based...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 25 2013

Performance was OK.
I'm 6'2", Dress Circle seats were terrible. Less than tight leg room.

Other than that, everything worked great. Tickets were there at box. Seats were together in the center of the Dress Circle.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jan 25 2013

I loved, loved, loved it. The lecture was informative and added to the enjoyment of the composers that were featured. The performance itself was so beautiful. I would definitely go again. I was fortunate to find Goldstar because it enabled me to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate