Breadpuppet 102113

The Shatterer of Worlds Reviews

West Park Presbyterian Church (New York, NY)

Reviews & Ratings

8 ratings
3.8 average rating
  • 4
    5
  • 1
    4
  • 1
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 1
    1
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 08 2013

I've seen a lot of B&P shows over the years and this one was one of the best. Great puppets, perfect timing, the sound machines were a great touch. The church is a perfect venue.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
29 stars
Goldstar Member
213 events
66 reviews
10 stars
attended Nov 09 2013

The musings of an acid trip. Nonsensical, disjointed, and just plain awful. Save your time, money, and effort.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
20 reviews
14 stars
attended Nov 13 2013

If you haven't experienced a Bread & Puppet pageant, you are in for a treat. The church setting heightens the atmosphere created by the majestic puppets and the mechanical soundscape. A meditation on the harsh treatment of humans in this cold,...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
24 events
9 reviews
26 stars
attended Nov 10 2013

Unique, Mystical, awesome - in the true sense of the word. Transending and trance-sending!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
38 events
8 reviews
7 stars
attended Nov 20 2013

The seating of this church doesn't compliment the show, the floor is not on an incline! If you are not in the first two bench rows, you will see performers from the chest up, the rest blocked by the front audience members. I could only decipher...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 13 2013

I have been watching Bread & Puppet performances since '70s. This is one of the best. I felt the depth and width of Peter Schumann's creative energy regardless of his age. What is the next?

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 08 2013

I'm sure if I had better understood all of the symbolism in the performance, I would have liked it a lot. But a lot of it was over my head, it seems.
The performers were great, though! And there wasn't a dull moment.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 22 2013

Negative. I thought it was a bizarre and meaningless performance, and I could not wait for it to finish.

star this review starred report as inappropriate