Gypsychicago

Gypsy Reviews

Drury Lane Theatre (Oakbrook Terrace, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

370 ratings
4.5 average rating
  • 217
    5
  • 124
    4
  • 20
    3
  • 6
    2
  • 3
    1
5 events
3 reviews
4 stars
attended Feb 09 2012

Cast was great, as well as costumes, production, just found the tunes dated ( obviously) overall experience was fun, second half being superior than first act..

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
1 review
4 stars
attended Mar 03 2012

Slow methodical no energy other then lead no how no way every see it again high school theatre is more entertaining

star this review starred report as inappropriate
44 events
18 reviews
21 stars
attended Feb 11 2012

Powerful leads and wonderful musical numbers but not much scenery and first act a little too long

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
11 reviews
18 stars
attended Feb 01 2012

This musical has been named by many the best one ever.
It's hard for me to see why. The music is average; the story is lame with no moral redeeming value.
Considering all that, the actors are awesome and the orchestra quite good. I would say go...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 01 2012

Absolutely fabulous! What an enjoyable performance all the way around.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Feb 04 2012

Another great job by Drury Lane
I though Ethel Mermann was on the stage

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Feb 01 2012

Great show. Klea's voice is wonderful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Feb 10 2012

I thought the first half was a little long . But we still enjoyed the play .

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Feb 11 2012

Wow! I'm not usually excited by plays. My wife is. But this is a wonderful production with a stellar cast! Don't miss it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
13 reviews
3 stars
attended Feb 09 2012

ROSE WAS EXCELLENT-GOOD SHOW

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
12 reviews
9 stars
17 events
9 reviews
12 stars
attended Mar 11 2012

I went with my daughter, her friend and her mother. We loved it. The singing was wonderful!
We really enjoyed all the characters. Well done!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
51 events
8 reviews
12 stars
attended Mar 30 2012

The music performances were very strong especially Mama. It's always enjoyable when the songs are familiar. The set was a bit disappointing but did not takeaway from a fun evening

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
4 reviews
11 stars
attended Feb 22 2012

I went to see Klea, but her understudy was there in her place. While I was initially disappointed, I thought it was a very good show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
3 reviews
2 stars
attended Feb 18 2012

Slow moving...rather long....The principals actors were ok the headliner reminded me of Bette Milder..Not Ethel Merman

star this review starred report as inappropriate
113 events
48 reviews
38 stars
attended Feb 26 2012

Sterling cast and stellar production values.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
71 events
37 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 16 2012

Good adaptation of an old musical -- familiar songs, well-delivered, esp by the lead singer.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
75 events
37 reviews
14 stars
attended Feb 10 2012

The actors were good. The music numbers were good. As were the costumes and the singing. 4 of us went and we had the same opinion that something was off. We decided that the show is just dated. It wasn't bad, just not great.

Parking...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
62 events
36 reviews
7 stars
attended Feb 11 2012

While Gypsy is not one of my favorite musicals, the cast did a great job.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
49 events
29 reviews
7 stars
attended Feb 08 2012

The voice of the lead singer couldnt be any better. She is an Ethel Merman clone. I had forgotten how many great songs were in this play. I knew the words to almost every song.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 12 13