1396552504 once on this island 040214

Once on This Island Reviews

Olney Theatre Center - Mainstage (Olney, MD)

Reviews & Ratings

35 ratings
4.7 average rating
  • 24
    5
  • 10
    4
  • 1
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
79 events
58 reviews
12 stars
attended Apr 26 2014

Very pleasant and enjoyable story and music. Olney Theater always does a great job and hires great performers. In particular, the actor that played one of the gods (the non-devil one) had a fantastic voice.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
19 reviews
9 stars
attended Apr 25 2014

The show was well staged and the performers were phenomenal- great singing and dancing. We truly enjoyed ourselves.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
mimosas
17 events
16 reviews
5 stars
attended Apr 11 2014

Fantastic show, well staged. The voices were powerful and beautiful and the dancing was magical. Bravo!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
10 reviews
3 stars
attended Apr 30 2014

I really liked the show. The music is beautiful, the set, staging, and choreography was all very well done. The lead, Timoon, was fabulous! The only weakness was that maybe 2 of the singers had some pitch problems and/or too much vibrato,...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
10 reviews
8 stars
attended Apr 19 2014

The cast was enthusiastic and excellent.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Apr 24 2014

This show was simply wonderful!!! DO NOT MISS IT !!!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
3 reviews
5 stars
attended Apr 24 2014

A beautifully simple and cleverly done production! Loved every minute! Everyone involved should be very proud of their work.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
6 stars
1 events
1 review
0 stars
8 events
1 review
3 stars
Goldstar Member
8 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Apr 17 2014

I've always loved the story. The cast has beautiful voices and great energy. I didn't love the costume choices, but overall it was very enjoyable.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Apr 23 2014

The performers were superb! It was a wonderful production. However, I brought my 5 and 7 yr old grandchildren and the story of the classed society of Haiti was over their heads. They enjoyed the music and dancing, but couldn't follow the story line.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Apr 23 2014

The production was wonderful and we had great seats!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
0 stars
attended May 03 2014

The production was very good as were the voices. However, the plot was confusing and very hard to follow. Most of the time we couldn't tell what was happening. Perhaps the "Playbill" could have done a better job of describing the action.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Apr 16 2014

This show was spectacular! Not one second of boredom! The music, the voices, and even the props were so creative and imaginative. The acting was so unbelievable that even trash bags and rags were transformed into beautiful gowns and ocean waves. I...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate