Venue Details

615 Star Starred
The Pasadena Playhouse
39 S. El Molino Ave. Pasadena, CA 91101
626-356-7529
Venue website Get directions
5 events
2 reviews
10 stars
No bad seats @ the P Playhouse
star this tip starred
5 events
2 reviews
10 stars
Paid Parking ingenuous. $3 became $7 when u entered the facility. Street parking limited. Come early & eat @ one of the many tasty ethnic restaurants within a few blocks of the venue.
star this tip starred
View All 1177 Tips

Reviews & Ratings

346 ratings
4.5 average rating
  • 225
    5
  • 83
    4
  • 29
    3
  • 8
    2
  • 1
    1
jedewards@gmail.com Red Velvet
65 events
25 reviews
23 stars
attended Jul 10 2011

Terrific dancing, sets, and lighting. The show itself was mediocre at best.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
NHWWC, LLC dba KMP Artists
14 events
3 reviews
10 stars
attended Jun 14 2011

Great dancing, good cast...not so sure about the direction or the book.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
3 reviews
18 stars
attended Jun 18 2011

Highly recommend this terrific musical to friends with and without kids! "Twist" is a contemporary take on the classic tale in the vein of "Oliver" & "Annie" set in pre-Depression New Orleans. The cast & kids are amazing and production numbers are...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 282 Reviews
Member Photos
Tn
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

Learn more about Twist at the musical’s official website.
Watch videos and listen to music from the show on the Twist media page.

Description

This heartwarming family musical features a book by Tony Award-nominee William F. Brown (Broadway’s The Wiz – Winner of Seven Tony Awards), music and lyrics by Grammy Award-winner Tena Clark (Natalie Cole’s Still Unforgettable), and music by Gary Prim (songwriter for Dionne Warwick and CeCe Winans). Golden Globe and multi-Emmy Award-winner Debbie Allen (Broadway and the West Ends’ Cat on A Hot Tin Roof – 2010 Olivier Award for Best Revival of a Play and TV’s Fame) is set to direct and choreograph the new musical.

American Idol finalist Tamyra Gray will play the role of Della.

Twist – An American Musical is a timely adaptation of Charles Dickens’ classic with a contemporary score, set in New Orleans on the eve of the Great Depression. TWIST tells the story of a young orphan boy born of a courageous white mother and an incredibly talented black father, who navigates the colorful and sometimes rough waters of street life and racial intolerance in his quest to find his family and to find love.

The score for Twist features the musical pulse of New Orleans in the 1920s and is highlighted by a tapestry of soaring ballads, hot jazz, blues, gospel and tap-infused dance numbers that will take audiences along this magical journey.