Venue Details

35 Star Starred
The Franklin Institute
222 North 20th Street Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-448-1200
Venue website Get directions

Member Tips

ScottPax
We were able to park on street but needed LOTS of quarters
info May 24 2012 star this tip starred
ScottPax
Go on a weekday to avoid the crowds
info May 24 2012 star this tip starred
Marianne
Franklin Institute parking garage on site and reasonably priced with validation.
info May 28 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Casual dress was fine on this very hot day
info May 29 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Bring a sweater and don't wear sandals.
info Jun 04 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
South Street is the place to go.
info Jun 04 2012 star this tip starred
View All 51 Tips

Reviews & Ratings

90 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 53
    5
  • 26
    4
  • 8
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 1
    1
5 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended May 15 2012

The Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit at the Philadelphia Franklin Institute was very well presented. The artifacts are mounted and described well. However, the exhibit does not... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended May 23 2012

It was outstanding. Very glad we went. Also very glad we went on a weekday afternoon as we could easily read/see/roam as we wanted without big crowds.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended May 29 2012

Absolutely fascinating to see the scrolls. My favorite part was learning about the original care of the scrolls immediately after their discovery - including the use of scotch tape (!!) to hold pieces together.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 70 Reviews
Member Photos
Dead_sea_scrolls_exhibit_1 Dead_sea Pithoskrater Dsc01195
More Information

Website

http://www.fi.edu/scrolls

Description

Dead Sea Scrolls: Life and Faith in Ancient Times is a self-guided exhibit. Guests average 1.5 hours to see the entire exhibit, but you may experience it at your own pace.

General admission to The Franklin Institute is included in your ticket price. With three floors of interactive exhibits and one Planetarium show, The Franklin Institute is a fun and educational way to spend the day for the entire family.