Venue Details

3065 Star Starred
The Franklin Institute
222 North 20th Street Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-448-1200
Venue website Get directions
cctvme
The weather was sunny and warm with a few afternoon showers.. I wore shorts, t-shirt, and comfortable shoes..
The Franklin Institute dress Aug 07 2014 star this tip starred
cctvme
You can take public transit or drive (as we did). We found ample street parking 1 block away. We parked for $1.25 per hour. Be careful, though. Parking times, rates and method of payment (coins only at meters or credit card at the muni-meter) vary widely around the museum. Parking enforcement officers are everywhere. Avoid a ticket, read the signs carefully. There is a parking garage in the museum, but we didn't use it.
The Franklin Institute travel Aug 07 2014 star this tip starred
View All 108 Tips

Reviews & Ratings

176 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 89
    5
  • 60
    4
  • 22
    3
  • 5
    2
  • 0
    1
Rob
6 events
6 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 23 2013

The Franklin Institute was very interesting. The Pompeii exhibit was definitely worth seeing, and the other aspects of the museum were nice additions. The Planetarium is very much targeted toward children 15 and under, but it was interesting...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
13 reviews
2 stars
attended Feb 19 2014

This was great for me and my other friend who is also a mom. We really enjoyed the history behind everything and were very interested in reading every detail on everything. Our kids on the otherhand were happy to be in a new environment,...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
8 reviews
4 stars
attended Mar 07 2014

Beautiful everyday and decorative objects excavated from the ruins are displayed in rooms that evoke the feel of a Pompeiian villa. Lovely exhibit.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 101 Reviews
Member Photos
Pompeii time lapse of the city 1 Pompeii time lapse of the city 2 118482560979089517811164435016321094415 pompeii time lapse of the city 1 Pompeii time lapse of the city 1b Pompeii time lapse of the city 1c Pompeii exhibit frankin institute2 600 Pompeii exhibit frankin institute3 600 Img 20140302 145509 007 Img 20140302 115303 601 Res 1393795310322 Img 20140302 114545 366
More Information

Website

http://www.fi.edu/pompeii

Description

Admission is free for those ages 2 or younger.

General admission to The Franklin Institute is included in the ticket price.