Goldstar 460x260px final

A Hammer, a Bell and a Song to Sing Reviews

Lyceum Theatre (San Diego, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

125 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 75
    5
  • 33
    4
  • 9
    3
  • 5
    2
  • 3
    1
20 events
9 reviews
5 stars
attended Jan 19 2012

Absolutely loved it and I hope that it gets the chance of circulating to other cities. It was well put together, and while it greatly appealed to the older generation, I don't see why it wouldn't do the same for the younger generations.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jan 22 2012

I took guests to the show yesterday afternoon and we enjoyed the show very much. A walk back in history.
The three guys kept it rolling and made us feel a part of it. We sang our hearts out. Hope they travel to other areas.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Diane
16 events
11 reviews
1 stars
attended Jan 19 2012

Quality voices, great choices of music, an amazing job they did in putting this together in a short time. Pete Seeger and family would have been impressed.
The audience seemed to love the opportunity to sing along. Me, too. Wonderful, uplifting,...

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 29 2012

it seemed to lack focus, couldn't decide what it was about, labor songs, protest, war songs.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
9 events
2 reviews
0 stars
3 events
1 review
2 stars
696 events
279 reviews
101 stars
attended Nov 17 2012

While I appreciated the musical talents of the performers, there wasn't just a whole lot here aside from a seemingly random collection of songs.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
80 events
46 reviews
29 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

All 4 performers were amazing and deserved the standing ovation they received at the end. People in the audience were singing and clapping as they were encouraged to participate. The show was fun, poignant and nostalgic with good messages.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
24 stars
attended Dec 02 2012

LOVED being able to sing along with some of my favorite stand-up-for-your-rights songs. Felt a but like the 60's again....except Yike! We all have gray hair!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
2 reviews
18 stars
attended Dec 01 2012

Too politically charged. I expected all my 60s songs that I loved in a musical celebration (as described in ad) but got a revolutionary act with an "occupy Wall Street attitude.
Very unpleasant if you don't fully submit to the 99% concept!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
72 events
57 reviews
4 stars
attended Jan 14 2012

This show really rocks and brought the audience to its feet at the end. It is evocative and powerful. The three singers are great, and the visuals complement the narrative and songs wonderfully. Don't miss it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Sue Brim
58 events
24 reviews
21 stars
attended Jan 13 2012

It was very interesting & different, but all the songs were great & I loved the audience interaction that the three actors encouraged!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
13 reviews
9 stars
attended Jan 21 2012

Fun, Fun! great seats and I sang along with everyone else.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Kim
21 events
13 reviews
6 stars
attended Jan 27 2012

The singers were very good. It was fun to sing along with all the old songs. I would not pay full price for this sing a long, but the half price goldstar tickets are ok. If you are opposed to the current Occupy movement you might not like to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Marcia H.
66 events
12 reviews
13 stars
attended Nov 21 2012

Great show. Great seats, third row center.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
31 events
11 reviews
18 stars
attended Jan 14 2012

A great evening. Fun,great memories of the wars and protests. Loved the music and audience participation.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
10 reviews
9 stars
18 events
10 reviews
8 stars
attended Nov 14 2012

Highly talented performers. The singing and acting is excellent.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
10 reviews
50 stars
attended Jan 29 2012

My generation - my music - my causes - my GOD was this bad! Expecting a delightful and poignant afternoon of moving music and storytelling, we left an hour into the show (which was generous). This production had so much potential to be amazing -...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
9 reviews
2 stars
attended Jan 29 2012

songs and enthusiasm brought back many wonderful memories

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4 5