Company 2 920

Company Reviews

Old Town Theatre (San Diego, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

100 ratings
4.2 average rating
  • 55
    5
  • 21
    4
  • 16
    3
  • 4
    2
  • 4
    1
Chris Red Velvet
27 events
20 reviews
5 stars
attended Aug 14 2013

A lot of fun. The tunes where catchy and some scenes were really funny.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Chris Red Velvet
27 events
20 reviews
5 stars
attended Aug 21 2013

It had some catchy tunes and few really good voices but the humor didn't seem particularly funny and most of the tunes weren't good.
It was the very definition of ÖK.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
35 events
14 reviews
5 stars
attended Aug 23 2013

Second time time I saw the play and loved it both times. The " cheap" seat was great , the venue is excellent and there is not a bad seat in the house

star this review starred report as inappropriate
45 events
13 reviews
4 stars
attended Jul 05 2013

Fun, and well done. Great casting and enjoyable performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
11 reviews
5 stars
attended Aug 02 2013

a little slow to start and ended up loving it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
11 reviews
10 stars
attended Jul 27 2013

i hadn't seen "company" in over 40 years when I saw the touring company with original cast. This rendition was excellent with each cast member holding their own and then some. It's a bit longer than I remember, but held my interest the entire...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
9 reviews
8 stars
attended Jul 27 2013

Fun show with a great cast - lots of laughs and terrific music; however, we found the show to be a tad too long at 2 hrs. 45 min. with the intermission. It could be a about 15 - 20 minutes shorter without sacrificing quality.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
27 events
6 reviews
32 stars
attended Jul 26 2013

Great music, great acting very enjoyable all around evening.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
52 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 22 2013

We loved this performance. Very well-staged and thought out performances. The actors were very engaged. The Cygnet is a great venue to see a play like this--small and intimate. Love the Sondheim music too.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member Red Velvet
10 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 25 2013

Excellant cast. Fine performance. Highly recommended

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
3 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 17 2013

I am very familiar with this musical. and have seem many productions of it over the years. This one was up there with the best of them! Go see it. You will not be disappointed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 20 2013

Lead has a nice voice, but is sometimes drowned out by live orchestra. Also may be slightly young to fully understand and sing the songs with the understanding and conviction of the words.
The ensemble cast was outstanding creating performances...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
51 events
43 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 06 2013

It's a great show to start with, and the cast was excellent. With intermission, the show lasts more than 2-1/2 hours, but it is completely engaging. See it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
61 events
40 reviews
25 stars
attended Jul 12 2013

Show was well-directed and as bittersweet as I remember, with all those great Sondheim tunes I'm still whistling 2 days later ...however, we were mystified by the casting of Bobby. The rest of the cast felt much more "theatrical" to us, with a lot...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
40 events
34 reviews
25 stars
attended Aug 04 2013

We love Cygnet theater - absolutely no bad seats. "Company" was good, but not marvelous. We weren't expecting a blowout, so all was OK. The funniest was the karate routine - the couple was hilarious. The ending was perfect.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
51 events
26 reviews
7 stars
attended Jul 14 2013

We loved it and so did the audience. The play has held up well over thirty years and the unusual direction and staging worked great.
With one exception, (the main character) the staging was strong. The venue was perfect for the intimacy of this play.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
20 reviews
2 stars
attended Jul 21 2013

Very good play, a little repetitive in the writing. Acting was good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
101 events
18 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 14 2013

Another great performance of a Sondheim play at the Cygnet. I believe that they are using the 1996 version updated by the playwrights (notice the substitution of the word "gay" for a more offensive word in one song) but they wisely kept the play...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
77 events
15 reviews
1 stars
attended Aug 25 2013

Excellent show, outstanding company. This was the last performance of this particular show, but I wouldn't hesitate to return for anything by the same theatre company.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
13 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 21 2013

It was a hoot! My husband and I really liked it! So glad to go and get your prices.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4