Goldimage

The Maids Reviews

10th Avenue Theatre (San Diego, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

13 ratings
3.5 average rating
  • 6
    5
  • 2
    4
  • 1
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 4
    1
151 events
87 reviews
52 stars
Barbara Blackwell Red Velvet
36 events
22 reviews
10 stars
attended Oct 04 2013

The staff were warm and hospitable. Venue was intimate. HATED the play. First time I've abandoned a live performance. Tried to hang in there out of respect for the cast but finally had to escape.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
David L Winter Red Velvet
14 events
10 reviews
22 stars
attended Sep 21 2013

First of all, I was so happy to have found a theater like the Tenth Avenue--a place where lesser known, not just popular plays could be found. "The Maids" was controversial when it opened in Paris and I think to a general audience, it is still...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
3 reviews
11 stars
attended Sep 29 2013

The acting was great. But I hated the play. I would have left after the first 15 minutes but there were so few people in the audience. I felt badly for the actresses that had put so much effort into it. I felt as if it was a waste of my evening. I...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
69 events
15 reviews
50 stars
attended Sep 14 2013

It was bad, I would have left at intermission, but there wasn't one. And they even made a movie of it. I love the 10th ave theatre and all the crew. Just a lousy script

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
12 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 21 2013

The play was quite risqué, and the actors did a great job of delivering a lot of dialogue with emotion. The intimate stage/seating also made for a memorable theater experience. Bravo!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
72 events
11 reviews
7 stars
attended Sep 21 2013

It was the worst show we ever seen in the past two years.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
10 reviews
18 stars
attended Sep 27 2013

My husband and I attended this play - it was excellent!!! The 'maids' were excellent and never faltered when saying their lines. It is a nice intimate theatre and we would definitely attend again. I have recommended this play to my friends.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
10 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 27 2013

This was a pretty good play. I'm giving it a 4 star because I was unaware that there would be so much touching and feeling up of the cast members. The story line was well put together and I enjoyed the play even with such a small cast.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 21 2013

The venue is really intimate. It has maybe four or five rows with 7 seats across. Parking can be a bit hard to find - the venue is in downtown, after all. That being said, plan to come early.

As for the play, the script was very interesting....continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate