Zoot2

Zoot Suit Reviews

Lyceum Theatres (San Diego, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

67 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 45
    5
  • 16
    4
  • 4
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 0
    1
39 events
24 reviews
2 stars
attended Jul 29 2012

Fantastic show!
Excellent band!
Great seats!
Completely satisfied and more!
Validate your parking at the Theatre and you get more time.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member Red Velvet
19 events
11 reviews
4 stars
attended Jul 15 2012

Went to Sunday evening preview. Show was excellent. Great dancing and strong acting. The show ran 2 hours and 45 minutes with a 15 minute intermission, and kept our attention the entire time!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
10 reviews
8 stars
attended Jul 22 2012

The show was amazing. My husband & I can't stop talking about the talented actors and dancers. The play is very thought provoking; made me laugh & cry. This is THE show to see this summer.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
108 events
103 reviews
184 stars
attended Aug 08 2012

I hesitated on this one. Zoot Suit is a play that came out in the late 70's, has not seen any real revival and left me with the impression it was a period piece about a period piece. So seeing this excellent production was a pleasant...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
12 reviews
4 stars
attended Jul 29 2012

Well done. Outstanding acting by all.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Mark Red Velvet
6 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 01 2012

Was entertaining. Straight forward story line, great acting and dancing. Singing was so-so. Keep your ticket stub to show at Horton plaza exit for free parking.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Aug 09 2012

Awesome show! A MUST SEE!!! It had humor, great music, great dancing, drama, and pretty girls and guys! Great seats and thanks to Goldstar...the price was excellent!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
32 events
22 reviews
6 stars
attended Jul 18 2012

As always the Lyceum had a great show. This play was well acted and directed and loved the music and dancing. Great history lesson from a different perspective!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
64 events
22 reviews
19 stars
attended Jul 17 2012

LOVED IT! COULDNT HAVE BEEN BETTER! EVERYONE DID A SUPERB JOB! KUDOS TO THOSE YOUNG MUSICIANS THEY WERE FANTASTIC.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
15 reviews
2 stars
attended Jul 27 2012

Zoot Suit is a well done with a fine cadre of actors and musicians. The story is based on fact and will open the audience to Los Angeles in 1942/43. The Lyceum Theatre is a great place to see a show and parking is easy at Horton Plaza. (remember...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
11 reviews
7 stars
attended Jul 29 2012

It was good but not great. The talent was very good but the story is lacking somewhat. It is well executed but lacking in something. I would not be quick to recommend it although I enjoyed it well enough.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
11 reviews
3 stars
attended Aug 12 2012

Wonderful production - fantastic cast. I was amazed to learn that many of the cast members were from San Diego School of Creative and Performing Arts - they were incredible - you could not tell the difference between adults and high school...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Sarah
20 events
10 reviews
8 stars
16 events
9 reviews
1 stars
attended Aug 01 2012

The choreography was good -- the first time - but then was redundant.
We left at intermission.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
7 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 17 2012

Excellent performance; lots of fun and of course drama!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
7 reviews
7 stars
attended Aug 02 2012

This was terrific. The leads were outstanding and the dancers great. The play captured a piece of Chicano history and how the community was treated in the 1940s. Well worth the history lesson!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Maricela
20 events
6 reviews
4 stars
attended Jul 28 2012

1 hour and 45 minutes. great show. all ages showed up

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 11 2012

I really had no idea what the play was about, I just assumed it was during the gangster era. But I found out that it has a spanish under tone and experience. Some of the dialogue is in spanish, it was eye opening for me.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
vlampell
22 events
5 reviews
7 stars
attended Jul 28 2012

Very good performances. The first act was a bit long. The play has a very interesting and original format and presents an interesting historical perspective on the Mexican-American community in the 1930's and race relations.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
4 reviews
12 stars
previous 1 3