The scion 112013

Brian Copeland's The Scion Reviews

The Marsh San Francisco MainStage Theater (San Francisco, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

82 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 46
    5
  • 28
    4
  • 5
    3
  • 3
    2
  • 0
    1
241 events
63 reviews
6 stars
attended Jan 11 2014

I've seen ( and enjoyed) all of Brian's shows and think this is one of his best. Unique storyline, thought provoking yet humorous.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
7 reviews
9 stars
attended Jan 30 2014

New One Man Show for Brian - whom I think is GREAT at weaving his stories and acting out all of the parts in the tale. Excellent show - good story with a POINT TO MAKE ! GO !

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
5 reviews
1 stars
attended Jan 23 2014

Brian Copeland's performance was probably once of the best I've seen. He is not only very funny, but tells a compelling story.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 04 2014

Brian was really amazing. His performance was thought provoking and funny. It is nice that both can happen in the same setting. I think it takes a rare talent to pull that off and Brian has that talent.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
196 events
140 reviews
19 stars
attended Feb 27 2014

Brian was as brilliant as ever. Excellent story-telling and very thought-provoking. Some of his voices were tough to understand.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
38 events
18 reviews
5 stars
attended Jan 17 2014

It was fabulous. Brian is so amazingly talented. I have seen all his shows. This one deals with white privilege in a very powerful and "not in your face" way that was very moving.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member Red Velvet
33 events
7 reviews
6 stars
attended Mar 01 2014

Another wonderful show from Brian Copeland. Thought provoking, intriguing, and personal.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Jan 24 2014

I have seen his work before and he can be quite funny and then move into serious and thought provoking material. The scion is particularly timely in focusing on privilege and entitlement.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
3 reviews
2 stars
attended Jan 23 2014

A muddled narrative does little to help this attempted hybridization of story-telling and stand-up, with its entertaining and memorable line-up of vividly enlivened characters. This reflection on inequality in American society focuses on the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
87 events
63 reviews
26 stars
Lois Y.
114 events
44 reviews
17 stars
attended Feb 28 2014

A fascinating and intelligent show . Extremely well performed by Brian Copeland, and very relevant to a number of topical issues. I highly recommend it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Fergus
45 events
29 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 22 2014

Energetic performance, funny, profound and necessary to be told. Well worth seeing as a commentary on the price of privilege.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
47 events
23 reviews
3 stars
attended Jan 16 2014

Brian Copeland's new masterpiece and his greatest work, in previews, and then playing through March. I have seen The Jewelry Box and The Waiting Period and loved them, but this, Copeland's newest show, I predict, will become his ultimate dark...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
27 events
22 reviews
4 stars
attended Apr 11 2014

I've seen all of Brian Copelands shows and I've always enjoyed them, this was no exception. His show is always thought provoking.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
21 reviews
9 stars
attended Feb 06 2014

Fantastic. I'd give this show a 4.5, if that was possible. Love how Brian delves deeply into big and important issues, while providing lots of laughs. Definitely recommend seeing this show, and Brian, in general.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
54 events
20 reviews
11 stars
attended Jan 16 2014

This was a preview. The content was good, but the presentation needs work. The characters portrayed by Brian were often confusing, not that funny or profound.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
54 events
19 reviews
11 stars
43 events
18 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 08 2014

Brian is quite wonderful and the topic of race and privilege is not to be missed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
44 events
16 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 27 2014

I give high marks to the theater staff, it's great location in the Mission District, and above all, the performance by Brian Copeland. He's confident, humane, and his humor is wise. He's a great story teller, understanding how to keep it...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
11 reviews
5 stars
attended Jan 24 2014

Brian Copeland is my favorite performance artist. What a treat to view his performances in an intimate venue like The Marsh Theatre.
Brian and the Marsh are truly two local treasures!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3