The scion 112013

Brian Copeland's The Scion Reviews

The Marsh San Francisco MainStage Theater (San Francisco, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

83 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 47
    5
  • 28
    4
  • 5
    3
  • 3
    2
  • 0
    1
256 events
71 reviews
8 stars
attended Jan 11 2014

I've seen ( and enjoyed) all of Brian's shows and think this is one of his best. Unique storyline, thought provoking yet humorous.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
7 reviews
9 stars
attended Jan 30 2014

New One Man Show for Brian - whom I think is GREAT at weaving his stories and acting out all of the parts in the tale. Excellent show - good story with a POINT TO MAKE ! GO !

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
5 reviews
1 stars
attended Jan 23 2014

Brian Copeland's performance was probably once of the best I've seen. He is not only very funny, but tells a compelling story.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 04 2014

Brian was really amazing. His performance was thought provoking and funny. It is nice that both can happen in the same setting. I think it takes a rare talent to pull that off and Brian has that talent.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
207 events
146 reviews
21 stars
attended Feb 27 2014

Brian was as brilliant as ever. Excellent story-telling and very thought-provoking. Some of his voices were tough to understand.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
104 events
72 reviews
27 stars
48 events
22 reviews
5 stars
attended Jan 17 2014

It was fabulous. Brian is so amazingly talented. I have seen all his shows. This one deals with white privilege in a very powerful and "not in your face" way that was very moving.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Outandabout Red Velvet
34 events
8 reviews
6 stars
attended Mar 01 2014

Another wonderful show from Brian Copeland. Thought provoking, intriguing, and personal.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Lois Y.
117 events
44 reviews
17 stars
attended Feb 28 2014

A fascinating and intelligent show . Extremely well performed by Brian Copeland, and very relevant to a number of topical issues. I highly recommend it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Fergus
55 events
33 reviews
4 stars
attended Mar 22 2014

Energetic performance, funny, profound and necessary to be told. Well worth seeing as a commentary on the price of privilege.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
32 events
25 reviews
5 stars
attended Apr 11 2014

I've seen all of Brian Copelands shows and I've always enjoyed them, this was no exception. His show is always thought provoking.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
49 events
23 reviews
3 stars
attended Jan 16 2014

Brian Copeland's new masterpiece and his greatest work, in previews, and then playing through March. I have seen The Jewelry Box and The Waiting Period and loved them, but this, Copeland's newest show, I predict, will become his ultimate dark...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
21 reviews
9 stars
attended Feb 06 2014

Fantastic. I'd give this show a 4.5, if that was possible. Love how Brian delves deeply into big and important issues, while providing lots of laughs. Definitely recommend seeing this show, and Brian, in general.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
54 events
20 reviews
5 stars
attended Feb 08 2014

Brian is quite wonderful and the topic of race and privilege is not to be missed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Lexine
57 events
20 reviews
11 stars
attended Jan 16 2014

This was a preview. The content was good, but the presentation needs work. The characters portrayed by Brian were often confusing, not that funny or profound.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
60 events
19 reviews
11 stars
48 events
18 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 27 2014

I give high marks to the theater staff, it's great location in the Mission District, and above all, the performance by Brian Copeland. He's confident, humane, and his humor is wise. He's a great story teller, understanding how to keep it...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
11 reviews
5 stars
attended Jan 24 2014

Brian Copeland is my favorite performance artist. What a treat to view his performances in an intimate venue like The Marsh Theatre.
Brian and the Marsh are truly two local treasures!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
26 events
10 reviews
8 stars
attended Mar 14 2014

An insightful and moving evening. Brian Copeland is an excellent storyteller.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
KP
12 events
8 reviews
2 stars
attended Mar 01 2014

Brian deftly weaves comedy with profound thoughtfulness in 75 minutes of great entertainment, giving pause to life in small towns everywhere. Wonderful show!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3