Sfs ragnarbohlin messiah 1107111

Handel's Messiah Reviews

Davies Symphony Hall (San Francisco, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

114 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 81
    5
  • 25
    4
  • 6
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 0
    1
21 events
2 reviews
11 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

Sublime performance! Great seats and beautiful location. Five Stars for the event.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
38 events
11 reviews
7 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

Very well performed - love the venue - seats were great - five stars!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
8 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

The soloists were wonderful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
4 reviews
8 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

The seats were excellent, musicians and chorus top notch!
My first time at this venue and it is amazing!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
MJP
6 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

The performance was very good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

This was a gorgeous production. The soloists had rich but subtle voices and the choir was magnificent. I thought a more tender side of the piece was brought to the fore and it brought tears to my eyes. Bravo, brava, all. Thank you.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
1 review
4 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

Fantastic choir! Really got us in the spirit of Christmas. Davies was beautiful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

Great way to kick off the holiday season.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

This was a beautiful event! The tix were easy to pick up at will call, the seats were much better than I expected, the music was perfect!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
109 events
74 reviews
27 stars
attended Dec 18 2011

The event was beautiful, although my companion and I did not personally like the voice quality of the second soprano. We found the first soprano to be sublime, however, and the baritone very pleasing. Overall, it was a memorable performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
46 events
21 reviews
258 stars
28 events
14 reviews
6 stars
attended Dec 18 2011

Great performance. Attendingg a Messiah performance kicks off the holiday season for me. This was a great way to do that. The performance, the venue, the atmosphere -- all were great.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Louise Flores Red Velvet
60 events
10 reviews
8 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

Its been a long time since ive seen a performance and to see it again in all its glory was a memory that i will remember for a long time

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
6 reviews
6 stars
80 events
5 reviews
10 stars
attended Dec 17 2011

Absolutely incredible. Conductor Bohlin did an outstanding job of bringing every instrument and vocalist together into one smooth sound. Loved it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 15 2012

Lovely concert, great choir and very good soloists. And I love Davies Symphony Hall. All in all, a good way to get in the holiday spirit.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
redwoodcub Red Velvet
22 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

SF Symphony Chorus Director Ragnar Bohlin gave a superb, full interpretation of Messiah. It was precise and restrained, rather than exuberant and energetic, as you might expect from Michael Tilson Thomas. All of the soloists performed well and...

star this review starred report as inappropriate
106 events
70 reviews
5 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

Perfect production in every sense of the word! It is not often that one has the opportunity to hear the complete, uncut version of Handel's "Messiah" and it was done spotlessly by all the performers.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
107 events
60 reviews
15 stars
attended Dec 15 2012

It was very beautiful. Much of the reason why I went was to be part of the audience during the christmas season. The piece is long and I knew that but it was worth sitting thru just to be somewhere so beautiful

star this review starred report as inappropriate
62 events
50 reviews
24 stars
previous 1 3 4