Venue Details

Member Tips

Goldstar Member
Seated in the mezzanine, the theatre was *very* warm.
info Mar 29 2013 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Candy, etc (quiet snacks) are allowed, but be sure to open it before the show begins.
info Mar 29 2013 star this tip starred
Ani
Public transportation is best as parking is difficult
info Mar 30 2013 star this tip starred
Ani
Theatre is on 2nd floor, bathrooms are on 3
info Mar 30 2013 star this tip starred
John Navas
Easy cheap parking in nearby Sutter-Stockton garage.
info Apr 01 2013 star this tip starred
View All 7 Tips

Reviews & Ratings

84 ratings
3.8 average rating
  • 34
    5
  • 26
    4
  • 5
    3
  • 10
    2
  • 7
    1
177 events
126 reviews
17 stars
attended Apr 16 2013

The opening scene was incredibly funny and well-acted, one of the best that I have ever seen. But the rest of the performance did not match this opening. There were some... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
111 events
106 reviews
28 stars
attended May 11 2013

Nice set. Very good acting by Ms. English; so so by the rest of the cast. The plot was petty and boring - junior high subject matter. Rumor has it that the second half is better. We walked at intermission and didn't look back..

star this review starred report as inappropriate
145 events
87 reviews
16 stars
attended Mar 27 2013

I can't believe this was a preview, since there wasn't a misstep anywhere. I loved it. The subject matter was oh so familiar, and the acting was superb. I am always impressed with SF Playhouse productions, but this is one of the best I've seen.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 58 Reviews
More Information

Website

http://www.sfplayhouse.org/season1213/reasons_to_be_pretty.php

Description

Obsessed. You. Me. America. This bristling comedy confronts our collective obsession with physical beauty. See what happens when Greg, a working-class guy in a long-term relationship, inadvertently remarks to a friend that, compared to a pretty coworker, his girlfriend is “regular.”

About the Ticket Supplier: San Francisco Playhouse

The aim of the SF Playhouse is to provide a creative home and inspiring environment where actors, directors, writers, designers and theater lovers converge to create works that celebrate the human spirit. Founded by Bill English and Susi Damilano in 2003, SF Playhouse is Union Square’s intimate, professional theatre. Using professional actors and world-class design, the SF Playhouse — which won the Bay Guardian‘s 2006 Best Off Broadway Theatre Award and about which the San Francisco Chronicle raved "San Francisco’s newest theatre isn’t just another tiny stage carved out of a storefront…it’s an enticing introduction to a new company" — has become an intimate theatre alternative to the traditional Union Square theatre fare, garnering 20 Bay Area Theatre Critic nominations in its first year.