Our town

Our Town Reviews

Morgan-Wixson Theatre (Santa Monica, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

36 ratings
3.9 average rating
  • 8
    5
  • 16
    4
  • 11
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 0
    1
19 events
13 reviews
15 stars
attended Sep 29 2013

Show was a bit slow at first - needs picking up

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
5 reviews
7 stars
attended Oct 06 2013

It was quite enjoyable for community theater.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
102 events
72 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 20 2013

Well acted; especially liked the narrator. Feel story is too slow for a young adult audience, but as a senior found it touching.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
80 events
65 reviews
215 stars
attended Sep 28 2013

It was a joy to experience this classic once again. Good staging by the director & good acting by the ensemble. The show does need tightening, and will do so after a couple of weeks.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
96 events
61 reviews
30 stars
attended Oct 13 2013

Te play is great, some of the performances were wonderful, especially the doctor's daughter who dies at the end. Other performances were not so good.The staging was not so good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
108 events
42 reviews
63 stars
48 events
35 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 19 2013

This play was different than most I have been to.
I did enjoy the narration by the guy that did most of the talking. I enjoyed the way you felt as if you were right there living in the same period as the play. However the play was a bit long and...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
66 events
21 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 04 2013

A bit long, but good content just the same the third act is the best!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
15 reviews
11 stars
attended Oct 06 2013

Nice performance of an American classic. Great ensemble. Solid performances by leads. Especially noteworthy is Heather Barnett as Emily. Loved her.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
35 events
14 reviews
6 stars
attended Oct 06 2013

Our Town is such a staple in American Drama and culture that it is
a) difficult to screw it up. even elementary kids can pull it off.
b) difficult to make it exceed expectations.
The Morgan-Wixson rendition is quite competent, and sure to be a...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
musicalphile
25 events
13 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 28 2013

The staging was creative, the acting balanced like a well-rehearsed choir, and the play itself was terrific! It was a pleasure to see a classic done justice to!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
11 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 29 2013

Really enjoyed it. I like this theater and have been a few times. It's very small and intimate. There really are no bad seats. It's not Broadway, but it's pretty good theater... in a town with more than it's share of not-so-good theater.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
11 reviews
11 stars
attended Oct 12 2013

Really like the small venue. Parking was much easier than I envisioned. And lots of options for good food in the area. The play was good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
graciano
14 events
10 reviews
2 stars
16 events
9 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 05 2013

A timeless play!! I would recommend this to everyone

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
9 events
7 reviews
7 stars
attended Oct 06 2013

Its a great small (but not tiny!) theater and the actors were great. Check out their website for suggestions on where to park (and where not to).

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
4 reviews
4 stars
attended Oct 05 2013

it was a descent show. i wouldn't consider it professional; definitely community theatre. biggest issue was pacing of the play which was a bit slow, but the actors gave an honest performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 12 2013

The play was well-written and gave info about life in the eastern USA around the turn of the last century, before much of modern technology was invented.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
3 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 06 2013

1st act was slow and I wished I chose something else. 2nd act much better and 3rd very moving. So... You have to suffer through the first act to enjoy the rest of the play.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1