1562465 tragedy commons

The Tragedy of the Commons Reviews

Ruskin Group Theatre (Santa Monica, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

35 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
19 events
10 reviews
4 stars
attended Oct 09 2011

This is a deep and difficult psychological play, beautifully acted, and well directed, about a family who lost their son in NY on 9/11 and how that incident affected their lives.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 16 2011

Excellent writing and acting. Kerwin and Hicks were amazing. This is a real treat for the L.A. audience - a Broadway-level production in a very intimate space.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 04 2011

A stunning opportunity to enjoy the work of a leading actor. The play is still resonating in my mind. Original, very emotional, intelligent, Broadway-caliber theater that would hold attention on a much larger stage.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
254 events
194 reviews
144 stars
attended Oct 16 2011

Just was o.k. - sorry it was not up to par.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
219 events
119 reviews
27 stars
attended Nov 19 2011

All around fine cast, except that I felt the Dan Gerard character, played by Jeffrey Stubblefield, was an extraneous and unneeded insertion in to the play. Rachel Noll, as Ellen Adams, gave a nice unforced acting effort, as did Edward Edwards as...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
141 events
50 reviews
-109 stars
attended Oct 09 2011

Good Acting & Good production

star this review starred report as inappropriate
108 events
42 reviews
63 stars
attended Nov 19 2011

Brian Kerwin's acting was great, but the storyline was not.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
82 events
31 reviews
7 stars
attended Nov 04 2011

great story, wonderfully written, and incredible performances, esp by Brian Kerwin. we loved it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
43 events
22 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 29 2011

Intriguing play, excellent cast, powerfully directed. A tour de force performance by Brian Kerwin. For me, the play illuminated--in a contemporary and very familiar context--the pain of holding on // trying to hold back the tide...of change. ...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
40 events
21 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 30 2011

The Tragedy of the Commons is a journey we have all taken, it starts out innocent enough but at the end we are in a strange place wandering how we got there.
The entire cast was excellent, I can not stress this enough however, Brian Kerwin's very...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
20 reviews
7 stars
attended Nov 12 2011

The acting was superb.
We enjoyed this performance a lot.A very pleasant evening spent.
Thanks to all actors.
Michele.R

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
13 reviews
40 stars
attended Nov 20 2011

Brian Kerwin had quite a task to perform and did very well at it. The small space presented a challenge to the fourth wall, but all did well with that, too. We talked about the play all the way home.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
54 events
11 reviews
11 stars
attended Nov 06 2011

Entertaining, thought-provoking, at times heart-breaking. Brian Kerwin and Leslie Hicks are superb actors. Don't miss this one!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
136 events
9 reviews
76 stars
attended Oct 29 2011

A truly outstanding performance by Brian Kerwin! Leslie Hicks is equally great. Excellent cast all around. Intelligent writing and relatable themes. Exceeded my expectations, See it. You won't be sorry.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
9 reviews
7 stars
attended Oct 29 2011

Interesting story line. Cast first rate. Strong first act, a slightly less effective second act.
Good direction and adequate set.

Comfortable seats and easy parking.
Rewarding evening of theatre.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 30 2011

If you can possibly get in to see this, DO IT! One of the best evenings you will spend in the theatre with uniformly excellent performances and a spectacular Brian Kerwin in the lead. You only have one weekend left. GO!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
PJ
9 events
4 reviews
13 stars
attended Nov 12 2011

So nice to see these great actors together.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 16 2011

Despite a borderline heavy theme the acting was all top notch!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
30 events
3 reviews
9 stars
attended Nov 05 2011

Pros: Excellent acting; nice job of staging in a very small venue.

Cons: Play moved along at an agonizingly slow rate; theme was hackneyed; virtually no plot. I usually enjoy productions at the Ruskin, but I thought this one would never end.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 21 2011

Great acting (Brian Kerwin is first rate), great little theatre. Hard to find, so keep your eyes peeled!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1