Harold front

Unbeatable Harold Reviews

Ruskin Group Theatre (Santa Monica, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

27 ratings
3.6 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
137 events
128 reviews
42 stars
attended Jun 28 2008

It was only 37 minutes long. Although it had a few funny moments and even a little bit of insight, it was only average in terms of performances by the two actors and the staging. They flubbed lines and seemed a little lost at times. Not really...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
141 events
73 reviews
9 stars
attended Jun 15 2008

Unbeatable Harry was indeed unbeatable--a play that deals with the complexities of life and relationships in such an elegantly simple, yet poignant, manner. The acting was right on and the actors played off each other with great timing. There...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
April Alexander Red Velvet
123 events
44 reviews
26 stars
attended Jun 28 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed what we felt was an unexpected, hilarious, well written and superbly acted show!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
115 events
86 reviews
31 stars
attended Jun 20 2008

I really like this little theatre, but this is the first play I've seen there that really knocked my socks off. The acting was superb! The set was wonderfully nostalgic and the script totally believable. You won't be disappointed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
108 events
44 reviews
50 stars
attended Jun 15 2008

It is a well written, very well acted, short, but intense play, which is very humorous and insightful to the dilemma of one person thinking of large possibilities for one's life against the more realistic feelings of another.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
51 events
41 reviews
14 stars
attended Jun 15 2008

I went to this one-act play (about 50 minutes long) with my 14 year-old son and my 70+ year-old mother. All three of us thoroughly enjoyed every minute!

The writing and acting were superb. The balance between some very funny lines sobering...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
83 events
31 reviews
21 stars
attended Jul 26 2008

Very pleasant short play that was most realistic.....
well done too!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
12 reviews
6 stars
attended Jun 28 2008

Not quite what I had expected; but I thought the show was cute. It seemed more like a sketch than the play I had anticipated.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
10 reviews
14 stars
attended Jun 15 2008

Short, sweet(ish) and beautifully performed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
9 reviews
6 stars
attended Jun 28 2008

Very funny situation very well acted. Harold thinks he is quite a guy. Wanda doesn't agree. See how it ends.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
9 reviews
4 stars
attended Aug 08 2008

Well acted but a lame subject. It was more like an acting exercise. There were only five people in the theater, and at least three of us were from Goldstar.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
6 reviews
9 stars
attended Jun 15 2008

Well written, well acted, well staged. I will be back to this theatre.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Jun 22 2008

Light entertainment, well acted, good script. A bit too short at about 45 minutes, but very enjoyable.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 16 2008

Amusing "short-story" one-act type play. Well acted. All seats in the small theatre are good. Brief, but very enjoyable, evening.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jun 28 2008

Funny but way too short (45 minute show).

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jun 28 2008

It was an okay play. Reflections of growing pains in a small town. The contrasting life-views between the characters was cute.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
1 review
3 stars
attended Jun 28 2008

It's not that the actors performed badly...it was the substance of the story...and the brevity of the script. ..and, the annoying people in the audience that seemed to be told to laugh loud...when the lines were not funny.

star this review starred report as inappropriate