Pirates of penzance 920

The Pirates of Penzance Reviews

The 5th Avenue Theatre (Seattle, WA)

Reviews & Ratings

27 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 19
    5
  • 6
    4
  • 1
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 0
    1
17 events
15 reviews
29 stars
attended Jul 14 2013

As usual, tickets awaited without any problem. We had great seats right up close. I could never afford those tickets at regular prices and thank Goldstar for making this kind of great theater available to me. The show itself was wonderful - great...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
14 reviews
2 stars
attended Jul 14 2013

Well done. Lots of fun. I had no idea it was written so long ago.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
7 reviews
4 stars
attended Jul 13 2013

This was my first G&S production, though I'd heard some of the music in recital years ago. What a wonderful introduction!! When David Pinchette came out as the Modern Major General - that was the ULTIMATE gift! He is so fabulous in everything...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
5 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 13 2013

Beautiful sets, great songs and singing, surprisingly good acting and a director who added lovely touches that kept even the children in the audience enthralled!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
5 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 14 2013

It was so much fun, the cast was very engaging, the story line timeless. And you can't go wrong with a venue like the 5th Ave Theatre!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 18 2013

Enjoyed the show very much. Wish the seats were further forward.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
3 reviews
10 stars
attended Jul 13 2013

I enjoyed this production even more than I thought I would! Great cast and lots of foolishness. Subtle it ain't and I wouldn't have G&S any other way.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 14 2013

It was easy to pick up tickets at will-call. The seats were reasonably priced in upper orchestra. The play was funny and energetic. Great for children and adults.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 14 2013

Super fun! I'm still trying to learn all the words to "Modern Major General!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 14 2013

The vocals were absolutely amazing! The story was a bit hard to follow because of the language of the period and the songs were very fast. I enjoyed it overall!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 13 2013

What a great show! I've been a fan of Gilbert & Sullivan since I was little, and this show was one of the best I've seen. The orchestra was excellent, the voices were perfectly cast and the energy was genuine and infectious. Thanks to all for the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 14 2013

A fun romp with the best of G&S witty lyrics and memorable musical arrangements. Lots of wit and humor to go around, with a few surprises thrown in. The cast was amazing! I will be humming these songs for weeks.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 13 2013

Gorgeous voices. Campy funny. All around good time

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 26 2013

Hilarious with just the right amount of tailoring to its Seattle audience. The Pirate King did a fantastic job, and the comedic timing was spot-on.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 13 2013

It was corny and childish. We couldn't understand what the actors were saying. We left at intermission.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Jul 14 2013

We thought the production was great and the actors did a wonderful job.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
24 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Jul 13 2013

A great romp of an evening! Terrific cast, great voices, novel staging and responsive audience. It all makes for a great theater event. Don't miss it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Jul 13 2013

excellent talent at and excellent price thanks to Goldstar

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Jul 12 2013

It was a great production, funny and great singing! We had a difficult time understanding the words of the main girl character because her voice is so high. Other than that it was great!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jul 11 2013

Wonderful show and our experience with Goldstar was totally seamless. We will definitely use them again and again.

star this review starred report as inappropriate