Hhcc 110411

Hill House Chamber Concerts Reviews

Summit Avenue Neighborhood (St. Paul, MN)

Reviews & Ratings

46 ratings
4.7 average rating
  • 33
    5
  • 11
    4
  • 2
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
4 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Apr 16 2012

My husband and I, along with a special aunt attended and so enjoyed the whole evening. What an extra pleasure to hear a superb chamber ensemble play at the Hill House, as if in your living room.
Bradley Greenwald was terrific....so helpful to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
31 events
14 reviews
6 stars
attended Nov 14 2011

The concert was great! So enjoyed the closeness of the musicians, as I was able to observe the difficulty of the pieces on the scores. The variety was fun. I had never thought of putting guitar with violin and cello. the stories about the music...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
8 reviews
3 stars
attended Apr 23 2012

Great venue! The baritone, Bradley Greenwald, was superb. A lovely evening.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
5 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 26 2012

This was a wonderful performance in a spectacular venue. Highly recommend!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
5 reviews
2 stars
attended Apr 23 2012

Wonderful evening! Bradley Greenwald is an amazing artist. And the other artists were equally talented. The refreshments and tour of the Hill House added to a totally satisfying event. Thank you!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
46 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Feb 13 2012

It was my first concert at the Hill House and it exceeded my expectations. The program was varied and impeccably performed and the setting was spectacular.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 23 2012

St. Paul is blessed to have musicians trained in classical chamber music who demonstrate their skill and talent via the Hill House Chamber Concerts. They were very good and provided us with a delightful evening of music and voice. Thanks!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
LKR
17 events
4 reviews
4 stars
7 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 13 2012

We enjoyed this intimate concert, the variety, and the tour afterwards.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 13 2012

Delightful show. The musicians are as good as you would see in a local symphony orchestra. Definitely would come again.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 14 2011

The musicians were talented, the musical selections were varied and interesting and the setting was impressive and intimate.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Apr 16 2012

Great intimate atmosphere - perfect for a chamber music concert.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Apr 23 2012

My first time to the JJ Hill House and it was magnificent! The opulence was the perfect backdrop to the wondrous excellence of the Chamber musicians. An artistic wonder that I would recommend highly. My two companions had similar comments....continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Feb 13 2012

The concert was excellent. A high quality performance in an intimate and elegant setting which included a brief, but very informative, tour of the JJ Hill House.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 14 2011

This was a highly enjoyable event. The music was wonderful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
1 review
3 stars
attended Feb 04 2013

Good music in a beautiful setting. I especially enjoyed the new piece that was performed and hearing from the person who wrote it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
28 reviews
4 stars
attended Apr 22 2013

Perfect intimate venue for this type of concert. Hard to go wrong with Bach and Mendelssohn. The musicians obviously had great personal affection for the pieces they presented. It was a treat to hear the harpsichord.
Lack of parking (confirmation...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
6 reviews
3 stars
attended Apr 22 2013

Went with my 12 year old who really enjoyed the music and a chance to talk with one of the musicians afterwards. Parked on Summit and had a nice wintery walk to the Hill House.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
6 reviews
3 stars
attended Apr 29 2013

wonderful venue and wonderful music. it was a first time experience for us and we will be doing it again.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 04 2013

Beautiful music, in an intimate setting.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1