Spelling bee 072213

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee Reviews

The Grove Theatre (Upland, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

33 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 18
    5
  • 11
    4
  • 3
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 0
    1
62 events
41 reviews
11 stars
attended Sep 15 2013

Fantastic job by this small and mighty cast. I laughed out loud and loved every minute!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
38 events
28 reviews
4 stars
attended Sep 22 2013

Funny, topical, several great voices. Members of the audience were called up onstage to participate in the bee. The cast worked well together and the musicians were exceptional.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
15 reviews
5 stars
attended Sep 22 2013

Wonderful! Wonderful! Show!
We had such fun!!
The BEST hands down community theatre show we have ever seen ever!!
The cast was fabulous!
We thought we had favorites!
But at the end...we couldn't decide who was our fav!?
Because the ENTIRE...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 22 2013

Great price for a great show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 13 2013

Fun! They picked a couple people from the audience to participate in the play, which made it all the more engaging. Parking was very convenient & free.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Sep 13 2013

Really great theater in a calming area! You feel right at home as everyone knows and talks to each other. The play was interactive and hilarious. Loved it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
1 review
6 stars
attended Sep 13 2013

We really enjoyed this play. All of the actors were excellent and it was a lot of fun!!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
S. Craig Red Velvet
284 events
113 reviews
24 stars
attended Sep 15 2013

The production values were consistent with a Community Theater. Singing was just a tad off, and the wireless mike setup was inadequate for the venue. Overall, still a cute show with heart.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
128 events
65 reviews
-145 stars
attended Sep 27 2013

I watch the National Spelling Bee every year and this rendition was truly unique, funny and refreshing. The acting was great and so were the cute songs, so glad I finally got a chance to see this awesome production.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
92 events
65 reviews
14 stars
attended Sep 13 2013

This is a cute show. This performance was well done and used many young actor/singers. The production used it's surroundings well.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
49 events
41 reviews
0 stars
35 events
30 reviews
4 stars
attended Sep 13 2013

My first time to this theatre. I enjoyed the show. Great cast. The sound was a bit off (too low) at times. Good seats through Goldstar.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
mariaelena
31 events
15 reviews
12 stars
attended Sep 15 2013

The venue was great. Grove Theatre is a small theatre in Upland with convenient free parking. The play was good but not great. I would have given it 3.5 stars if that were an option. The performances were great, but the play seemed silly at...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
11 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 22 2013

A LOT of fun. Enjoyed it and love the venue. Good parking, nice location, terrific theater. Their productions are always SO good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
17 events
11 reviews
16 stars
14 events
10 reviews
4 stars
attended Sep 28 2013

I took my grandchildren ages 13 & 10 who totally enjoyed the play. They could relate to it some of the characters!
I noticed a younger crowd at this play also which was great to see and other families bringing their children.
Price was right,...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
6 reviews
11 stars
attended Sep 29 2013

Energetic, amusing. Talented young cast! My only complaint is that it was very difficult at times to understand the words being sung, so I didn't "get" a lot of the funny stuff.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Bonnie
21 events
6 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 22 2013

For a local music, it was very pleasant. Great parking. Loved the small theatre scene.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended Sep 15 2013

Good effort but could use professional polish.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 29 2013

The cast was outstanding and extremely polished. We've done a lot of Broadway and LA shows, and this was way up there in quality.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1