Composite crop

Gilbert and Sullivan's Iolanthe Reviews

Lesher Center for the Arts - Hofmann Theater (Walnut Creek, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

23 ratings
4.7 average rating
  • 17
    5
  • 5
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 0
    1
196 events
140 reviews
19 stars
attended Aug 03 2013

I have seen a number of Lamplighters productions at Lesher, and this was far and away the best. The fairies were really really good, as was Robby Stafford as Mountararat. A very funny and charming performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member Red Velvet
118 events
91 reviews
3 stars
attended Aug 03 2013

The live music was superb. This is a great chance to see one of the lesser known G&S shows. The political barbs are as true today as they were when they were written.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
105 events
37 reviews
26 stars
attended Aug 03 2013

The singing was excellent. Not yet fully rehearsed, but wonderful energy.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
11 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 03 2013

Absolutely amazing performance. Singing, dancing, sets, orchestra were all perfect. And what a great story Iolanthe is - probably something Congress should be forced to see and study. It was in the main hall at Lesher, which is a stunning venue....continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
38 events
10 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 04 2013

Great show. Energetic lively cast made it an enjoyable performance where the time flies by. Queen steals the show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
9 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 03 2013

Great show and cast. Strong and lovely voices (no microphones)

star this review starred report as inappropriate
50 events
8 reviews
23 stars
attended Aug 02 2013

Excellent production. Iolanthe is one of the cleverest of G&S operas. It is a pure pleasure to hear first-rate voices without amplification, an experience we are seldom allowed to enjoy. The Lamplighters give us a live orchestra, entertaining...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
4 reviews
4 stars
attended Aug 04 2013

Absolutely delightful...Grinned from beginning to end interspersed with laughing out loud. Costumes, staging, acting, singing and orchestra all wonderful. And great venue! Will go to more of these!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
317 events
188 reviews
130 stars
attended Aug 04 2013

We loved it! We got there early and can read so we got in free to the art exhibit at the Lesher Center. It was a lovely day. What a great performance! Such opulent costumes, actors, and scenery. Yeah the Lamplighters!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
165 events
46 reviews
9 stars
attended Aug 04 2013

The very best of G&S. Terrific cast, sets, orchestra.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
fjm
186 events
35 reviews
19 stars
79 events
28 reviews
6 stars
attended Aug 03 2013

Great costumes, good orchestra, lovely voices and a very funny story. What wasn't to like?

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
18 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 04 2013

If not the best, it's close to the best performance of Iolanthe I've seen despite that Lord Chancellor left out a line of his patter song (which nobody noticed until he brought it to our attention).

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
8 reviews
16 stars
attended Aug 03 2013

Excellent, funny show. The cast was first rate!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
4 reviews
5 stars
attended Aug 03 2013

the show was a lot of fun and well done. people around me were laughing and enjoying the show which i did too. the lamplighters never fail to put on a great show and the gilbert and sullivan material is a favorite.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
3 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 04 2013

I was pleasantly surprise how great this show is. The libretto is phenomenal, the melody is haunting, excellent singers, and whimsical characters. This is a must see show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 03 2013

Fun show- well staged. and we got good seats thru Goldstar!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Aug 04 2013

An excellent musical experience. Wonderful singing, delightful costuming and sets, beautiful orchestral accompaniment

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Aug 03 2013

This was a terrific production of Iolanthe. The lead singers had wonderful voices and acting skills as well. This is a fine venue for this type of production. The side orchestra seats were very good and there are fine sightlines.
The Lesher...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate