Let me down easy 113010

Let Me Down Easy Reviews

Kreeger Theater at Arena Stage (Washington, DC)

Reviews & Ratings

28 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 21
    5
  • 4
    4
  • 3
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
96 events
12 reviews
12 stars
attended Dec 31 2010

She is amazing and you totally believe she is the character. We all enjoyed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
186 events
67 reviews
22 stars
attended Jan 02 2011

I did not especially enjoy this, although my companion liked it much more than I did. I thought the show was a bit disjointed, relying too heavily on quotes from celebrities. In a number of these cases, you were left wondering what the subject...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
618 events
19 reviews
387 stars
attended Jan 02 2011

I think the show is too long--one hour and forty minutes. Several people in the audience fell asleep and others looked bored. The show could use some editing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
5 reviews
16 stars
attended Dec 31 2010

Must See!! Anna Deavere Smith is amazing as an actor - every move is choreographed perfectly. The content of the show is profound in and of itself but her performance is unbelievable. I'm going again!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
baf
79 events
45 reviews
34 stars
36 events
18 reviews
9 stars
attended Jan 02 2011

The show was a bit slow at first, but we got more into it as it went on. It probably was a bit too long. It is a bit disjointed, but she does an amazing job inhabiting the characters. A few of them were particularly poignant.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
24 events
15 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 31 2010

Another A.D. Smith show, where she inhabits more than a score of characters effectively. Less continuity than some of her shows. The vignettes are connected only in that they treat health care and death.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
52 events
10 reviews
43 stars
attended Jan 07 2011

Great play and the new Arena Stage is gorgeous. No bad seats in the house.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
8 reviews
10 stars
attended Jan 04 2011

she is marvelous - the nuances of movement to convey different characters. she totally nails them. Really makes you think about death, dying and illness.. My friend however, found it too long without any real action.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
8 reviews
17 stars
attended Jan 07 2011

This is an interesting piece of theater. It's great to see Ms. Smith embody so many very different characters. I left the theater feeling that the topic of health care was too broad to be well-suited for this type of presentation.

My only...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
6 reviews
6 stars
attended Dec 31 2010

I love Anna Deveare Smith's work. It is always so perceptive. I wish that more Republicans would go see this moving piece before they decide to dismantle the health care law.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
26 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Jan 04 2011

ADS has an uncanny ability to mime a large number of characters, but in this show the effect is far less than in her other work. Several segments were poignant and moving, but several others were pointless, overly long and seemingly unrelated to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
4 reviews
5 stars
attended Jan 02 2011

As usual, Anna Deveare Smith is excellent -- how one woman can convincingly portray so many different characters -- men and women -- is wondrous. I didn't think the "narrative" hung together as much as some of her previous works, but still...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 31 2010

Awesome! It's insane how an actress can inhibit so many different characters back to back with all their different mannerisms and accents, she's a true artist.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
3 reviews
15 stars
attended Jan 07 2011

A wonderful opportunity to see acting as real craft. Thoroughly enjoyed the performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended Jan 04 2011

ADS is captivating - she completely inhabits her characters. The material was funny, smart, poignant, thought-provoking. Ms. Smith is a brilliant artist (guess that's why she won a MacArthur grant!)
The theater is beautiful, although these...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 02 2011

She's a gem. An incredible actress with profound studies of the human condition and society at large.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
3 reviews
23 stars
30 events
3 reviews
14 stars
attended Jan 01 2011

What a gift she has given us!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
16 stars
attended Jan 07 2011

Anna is Absolutely Brilliant! She transforms herself which transforms her audience! Our young adult children loved it too!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1