Candidaerendira 013111

The Innocent Eréndira and Her Heartless Grandmother Reviews

GALA Hispanic Theatre (Washington, DC)

Reviews & Ratings

13 ratings
4.2 average rating
  • 5
    5
  • 5
    4
  • 3
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
7 events
1 review
0 stars
49 events
11 reviews
7 stars
attended Feb 17 2011

Not the best thing I've ever seen. The staging was good, but the surtitles were difficult to follow, and a lot of the nuances seemed to be lost in translation. If one doesn't speak fluent Spanish, it may not be the best show to attend.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
44 events
8 reviews
18 stars
attended Feb 19 2011

The plays has a disturbing theme and it is a bit unsettling to see it glossed over by overacting and comedy. However overall the play is entertaining and worth going to see even if you do not understand Spanish.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
6 reviews
6 stars
attended Feb 17 2011

The story surely came to life thanks to the wonderful actors.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
5 reviews
8 stars
attended Feb 11 2011

Great staging and wonderful performances. Very enjoyable.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Feb 11 2011

Great story and a great performance by the two main characters. Some of the supporting actors have room for improvement. But in general, it made a great evening!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Feb 20 2011

Gabriel Garcia Marquez is one of my favorite authors, so I was really looking forward to seeing this play.

The play does not disappoint. In my opinion the actors did a superb job and the play was wonderful.

I would "highly" recommend this...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
ann
3 events
1 review
4 stars
attended Feb 19 2011

Gala Theater offers a refreshing perspective to DC. Loved the play, especially the abuela, who should have gotten roses at the end. For her acting, not the character.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Feb 26 2011

Great Performance.
cons: Latecomers should not be admitted into the theater once the performance has begun until there is a suitable break or at intermission. Late seating is a distraction to the artists and to the other patrons already...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate