Capitol Steps Tickets

Reviews of Capitol Steps

A lot of comedians take on the absurdities of Washington, but few of them have actually been on the front lines of the madness that is politics. The Capitol Steps have. Founded over 30 years ago by a group of fed up Senate staffers, the Steps have been drawing from the ranks of Capitol Hill ever since, bringing their insider knowledge to bear in creating withering critiques of both sides of the aisle. During their long history, the troupe has released more than 30 albums, they’ve been featured on NBC, CBS, ABC and PBS, and can be heard twice a year on NPR during their “Politics Takes a Holiday” radio specials.

Goldstar
Back to Capitol Steps

129 Capitol Steps Reviews

Annette Mann
292 events
260 reviews
71 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Jan 12 2019

A predictably fun show with lots of familiar songs with new lyrics. Listening to the news and the dysfunction of our government can be depressing. Capitol Steps makes it light again.

report as inappropriate
F. E.
216 events
132 reviews
17 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Mar 17 2019

Very Clever and entertaining.

report as inappropriate
Coralie Farlee
238 events
82 reviews
64 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Dec 11 2015

I liked/loved several segments. I especially DID NOT LIKE the 2 skits on the Affordable Care Act. They should please get something new and more relevant, since it's working -- and why it's NOT working is because some states have messed it up,...continued

report as inappropriate
Scott
49 events
24 reviews
8 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Jul 17 2015

Great beautiful venue. One of a kind political satire at both ends of spectrum. Brilliant satire performances by super talented seasoned actors. Well done

report as inappropriate
William Geary
69 events
18 reviews
5 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Jul 31 2015

Uniformly excellent. Surprising musical abilities are a real plus. Obama was great as were all in the cast. Not a bad seat in the house. A very nice performance venue.

report as inappropriate
Shirley
26 events
17 reviews
4 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Jun 30 2017

I often take my out of town guests to see the Capitol Steps as they are funny and the only political humor in town. Sometimes we could not understand the words but enjoyed the experience

report as inappropriate
Greg Lane
18 events
12 reviews
13 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Nov 16 2019

So funny! If you didn't get a personal invitation to dinner from Donald, you can see him "in person" in this show :).

report as inappropriate
Mary Booth
58 events
11 reviews
9 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Jun 19 2015

We were almost crying we were laughing so hard! A must see!!!!

report as inappropriate
Denise Cheslack
35 events
9 reviews
2 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Jul 24 2015

Excellent! A clever use of musical tunes and rhymes to have fun with current politics on all sides. A good time.

report as inappropriate
attended The Capitol Steps on Aug 28 2015

Hadn't seen the Steps in years. A night of sheer entertainment w/ constant laughs. A few weak numbers but overall A+. Also loved the venue -- a really nice auditorium w/ room to get down the aisles w/out stepping on anyone's feet. Next out-of-town...continued

report as inappropriate
Linda Friar
26 events
8 reviews
14 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Feb 09 2018

This was a great evening out with an out of town visitor - we laughed a lot and enjoyed every minute

report as inappropriate
Linda Friar
26 events
8 reviews
14 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Jan 17 2020

I had out of town guests visiting and this great comedy started their visit. As always this talented cast delighted with the humor of the day that can be enjoyed by all.

report as inappropriate
Barb
125 events
122 reviews
32 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Mar 09 2019

These guys are the absolute best at political satire, I see them every chance I get, you should, too.

report as inappropriate
P.H.T.
93 events
50 reviews
24 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Mar 17 2019

My husband and I really enjoyed this show. The Herbst is a beautiful venue. On one sketch I laughed till I cried.

report as inappropriate
Denny
59 events
42 reviews
7 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Jan 12 2019

Not as funny as previous shows. Too one-sided. Old material was used in the performance.

report as inappropriate
Nancy
Nancy
71 events
36 reviews
28 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Jul 10 2015

This was my second time seeing Capitol Steps, and they are still very funny!

report as inappropriate
Susan Driscoll
59 events
35 reviews
24 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Mar 17 2019

I thought it was fun enough. It seemed a bit short for the cost but the players were talented and the material was mostly funny with a creative take on familiar music.

report as inappropriate
Rebecca Low
77 events
27 reviews
31 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Jan 12 2019

Fun group! Will keep it on my annual list.

report as inappropriate
Joan Rubin
59 events
26 reviews
29 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Sep 07 2018

Seeing Trump and Putin played by the same actor was a good but true joke. His Putin was lots of fun. All actors had great hand gestures and voices. Sarah Sanders Huckebee (sp?) was a lot of fun especially against Bernie Sanders. But all in all...continued

report as inappropriate
gator
71 events
24 reviews
3 stars
attended The Capitol Steps on Aug 26 2017

This was great. Saw them years ago and the updated skits were fun and hilarious. Must see DC!

report as inappropriate
previous