Janis Siegel Tickets

Reviews of Janis Siegel

A vocal powerhouse who rose to fame as one of the principal members of a cappella supergroup The Manhattan Transfer (“The Boy From N.Y.C.,” “Birdland”), jazz icon Janis Siegel is a preternaturally gifted singer who’s been praised for her “big, sensual voice” and “aggressive attack that allows her to slip comfortably back and forth between pop-rock and jazz” (The New York Times). In addition to her decades-long tenure with The Manhattan Transfer, for which she won 10 Grammys, Siegel’s maintained a thriving solo career, has collaborated on a variety of musical projects including Bobby McFerrin’s Voicestra, and was inducted into the Vocal Group Hall of Fame in 2003.

Goldstar
Back to Janis Siegel

20 Janis Siegel Reviews

Close Harmony
43 events
26 reviews
13 stars
attended Janis Siegel & Her Trio on Sep 25 2011

Fabulous show! The place was packed and Janis sang soulful song after soulful song... I had never heard ANY of the songs she performed and yet I loved each one. What a star! I can't wait for her next visit back to this great venue.

report as inappropriate
DS
DS
57 events
24 reviews
2 stars
attended Janis Siegel in Nightsongs on Jan 16 2014

amazing voice,performer & trio

report as inappropriate
Venis Goodman
34 events
20 reviews
17 stars
attended Janis Siegel & Her Trio on Sep 25 2011

I have seen Manhatten Transfer several times and always admired her. I was so excited to find out she wa doing a solo act, and in a very intimate setting. She is truely one of the great jazz singers in the style of Ella, Sarah Vaughn, etc. But...continued

report as inappropriate
Cori Miller
21 events
14 reviews
7 stars
attended WBGO Jazz Series: Janis Siegel in Nightsongs on May 07 2013

Fabulous evening at a great venue. Janis's range of material was amazing and her voice is sheer perfection. What a fun night of great music and performance.

report as inappropriate
audreyk
22 events
7 reviews
32 stars
attended A Tribute to Ella, Joe and Basie on Sep 25 2013

Great show and music with many talented musicians...very enjoyable evening!

report as inappropriate
Andrew Cheng
13 events
6 reviews
6 stars
attended WBGO Jazz Series: Janis Siegel in Nightsongs on May 07 2013

Great intimate room with good food choices and great sound. The band was great nd sounds are wonderful. A great evening and new night spot at West Side.

report as inappropriate
RodS
15 events
6 reviews
10 stars
attended WBGO Jazz Series: Janis Siegel in Nightsongs on May 07 2013

Just absolutely LOVE Janis. She has an amazing voice. Have seen her many times solo and with the Manhattan Transfer and she never disappoints. This was no different. The venue is a great place to see a show. There really is no bad seat in the...continued

report as inappropriate
transom
14 events
5 reviews
2 stars
attended Janis Siegel & Her Trio on Sep 25 2011

As a long time fan of Ms. Siegel's work both as a solo artist and as a founding member of The Manhattan Transfer, I pretty much knew what to expect. Gladly I wasn't disappointed. She moved through several genres of music - standards, vocalese and...continued

report as inappropriate
Debra W Guttas
Debra W Guttas
11 events
5 reviews
1 stars
attended Janis Siegel in Nightsongs on Jan 16 2014

Fun environment, great martinis and food! Janis is a great entertainer. Highly recommend!

report as inappropriate
Len Gersten
9 events
5 reviews
0 stars
attended WBGO Jazz Series: Janis Siegel in Nightsongs on May 07 2013

My wife and I greatly enjoyed Janis Siegel's performance last night at Below 54. Her voice was in fine form and the four-piece band backing her up were spectacular! Below 54 is a ideal venue to catch a show such as this.

report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
23 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Janis Siegel & Her Trio on Sep 25 2011

Loved her and the combo -- outstanding performance. However, you should ask the floor manager to not keep jumping up and down and dashing around the room -- it was very distracting and unnecessary and took away from the overall performance.

report as inappropriate
Dr. Debbey Thomas
Dr. Debbey Thomas
12 events
4 reviews
17 stars
attended A Tribute to Ella, Joe and Basie on Sep 25 2013

It was a most memorable experience! I took my mother because I knew she lived through the era of the band and singers. It was spectacular and my mother loved it! The band was great and the two singers were fantastic!

report as inappropriate
Sally Odle
4 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended A Tribute to Ella, Joe and Basie on Sep 25 2013

Fabulous music...especially Janis Siegel! Wow!

report as inappropriate
Jan
Jan
6 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended WBGO Jazz Series: Janis Siegel in Nightsongs on May 07 2013

Ms. Siegel was EXQUISITE.....A CLASS ACT...VIBRANT AND HER QUINTET OF EXTRAORDINARY MUSICIANS PRESENTED A BEAUTIFUL TAPESTRY OF MUSIC......CAN NOT WAIT TILL WE SEE HER AGAIN..
SHE IS A NATIONAL TREASURE!

BRAVA!

report as inappropriate
palermo
11 events
2 reviews
6 stars
attended Vocal Mania: Janis Siegel & Lauren Kinhan on Dec 11 2019

I wish Janice and Lauren had sung more. They're both more talented than most of their guest singers. That was a big disappointment.

report as inappropriate
Michael Perlin
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended A Tribute to Ella, Joe and Basie on Sep 25 2013

First time at this venue. The venue is magnificent and the show was outstanding. WIll definitely see more productions here.

report as inappropriate
jazista
13 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended WBGO Jazz Series: Janis Siegel in Nightsongs on May 07 2013

The music was great, the service was wonderful, but the food is grossly overpriced for what it is, and so are the drinks.

report as inappropriate
BLUELOUISE
5 events
1 review
3 stars
Marcus Gilliland
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Janis Siegel in Nightsongs on Jan 16 2014

Great time. Janis is amazing and the trio was fantastic as well. Looking forward to her returns to San Diego.

report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended A Tribute to Ella, Joe and Basie on Sep 25 2013

Great seats, loved the program, love the venue!

report as inappropriate