Nutcracker art
4.3 / 5 Rated by 93 members
Review from Scott Cowan
Red Velvet 54 events 32 reviews

Original and imaginative! Well-acted and great use of sets. House Theater is quickly becoming one of my favorite companies.

reviewed Nov 24 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Lizz Farmer
2 events 1 review

It was wonderful! The actors were all divine, esp the little girl, her uncle, and the toys, and the script was light and funny while also being moving - very enjoyable!

reviewed Dec 13 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Jessica
2 events 1 review

This is definitely a House creation, in the best way possible. I had high expectations from them after seeing The Sparrow, and this exceeded them! It managed to retain humor and cuteness through the dark twist they put on it. Awesome!

reviewed Dec 08 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Stephanie Leopold
25 events 13 reviews

This was hilarious and wonderful. Would definitely suggest it to others!

reviewed Dec 21 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Marcella Welch
16 events 10 reviews

The performance was delightful. We took a five, eight, nine and an eleven year old to see the show. They were all delighted with the toys coming to life. However, the story line is dark in that Clara is battling mental illness. None of the...continued

reviewed Nov 25 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Anonymous
128 events 51 reviews

This was one of the most creative performances I've ever seen! The actors and the orchestra were wonderful!

reviewed Dec 01 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Monica Garreton Chavez
68 events 39 reviews

So funny!!! I wasn't sure what to expect from the description but it was a creative, fun, totally awesome play and it made me want to go see more plays from the same company. Highly recommend!!

reviewed Dec 21 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Robert Winkenbach
81 events 30 reviews

A redo of Nutcracker with major changes, retaining only the toy symbols.

reviewed Nov 15 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Linda Garrity
37 events 21 reviews

Loved everything about this quirky, inventive show-the actors, the characters, the costumes, the orchestra and especially the heartwarming story. A great offbeat holiday show for the whole family!!!!

reviewed Nov 25 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Lark Marie Gray
20 events 8 reviews

The Nutcracker and The House certainly did not disappoint. We loved the show. It was really extraordinary. I've said it before and I'll say it again, The House is one of the best theater companies in Chicago. It is comprised of extremely...continued

reviewed Dec 21 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Susan S.
11 events 7 reviews

Saw this play with my 15-year-old nephew and 11-year-old niece....it was good family entertainment with a message.

reviewed Nov 24 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
8 events 7 reviews

This cast is SO creative and entertaining - great show!

reviewed Dec 16 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Fleg
9 events 6 reviews

It was a good show but scary for kids. Very deep when you think about all the issues involved.

reviewed Dec 01 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Donna Atkinson
17 events 6 reviews

The performers were wonderful. The show was enjoyable. However the Name of the show weas highly deceiving- it wasn't what I expected and I'm sure if people were to take children they would be very dissappointed.

reviewed Nov 15 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Bora Un
17 events 6 reviews

This was such an interesting take on the Christmas classic. I took my 12 year old nieces and felt it was a little too dark for them. The storyline was advanced for their age but they definitely got the broader picture.

Overall, great performance.

reviewed Dec 15 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Bella Ventresca
8 events 5 reviews

I thought that this redition of the Nutcracker was poorly written. The actors really saved this script. It was terribly boring, but I think that the acting was pretty good.
Definitely too dark/scary for children.

reviewed Nov 28 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
6 events 4 reviews

A neat twist on the Nutcracker. Really enjoyed the play and definitely would recommend to others.

reviewed Dec 16 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Adam M.
15 events 4 reviews

Great Holiday performance. Moving and hilarious! A must see.

reviewed Dec 15 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Judd Rinsema
9 events 4 reviews

House Theatre Company does some wonderful things. See their shows!

reviewed Dec 14 2007 report as inappropriate
Review from Nancee
5 events 4 reviews

It is definitely not your traditional Nutcracker but it has its good moments.

reviewed Nov 15 2007 report as inappropriate
previous 1 3