Carmen

Carmen

Lucie Stern Theatre (Palo Alto, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

29 ratings
4.5 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
72 events
34 reviews
29 stars
attended Oct 19 2008

pretty solid singing and the orchestra was terrific.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Joanne Davidson
44 events
23 reviews
7 stars
attended Oct 17 2008

West Bay Opera couldn't be any better! Are we lucky to have such 1st class entertainment in our area!
Joanne Sobel

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Bev
21 events
13 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 19 2008

I like this venue. They just had the AC turned up a bit high but the sound was decent and the set and performances were good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
24 events
10 reviews
16 stars
attended Oct 26 2008

This is a great theater as it is relatively small so all the seats are pretty good. This is the second production I have seen at West Bay opera - both thru goldstar - and the quality is great as well as the goldstart price!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
41 events
8 reviews
9 stars
41 events
8 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 17 2008

Very good music and performers. We really enjoyed it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
7 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 17 2008

I would not again buy tickets without knowing where my seats will be. We were seated at the wall which was far enough to the side that we could not see part of the side of the stage.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
6 reviews
10 stars
5 events
4 reviews
25 stars
attended Oct 17 2008

Awesome Singers and Orchestra, Set Design. Close, Intimate Theater. A very professional production of Carmen. Carmen and all the leads were fabulous. Highly recommend it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 17 2008

Carmen was a strong, determined woman who did not have good taste in men but that's what makes it a great opera.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
25 stars
attended Oct 17 2008

I love this so much that I Googled the lead, and send her a personal email telling her how much I appreciated her performance as Carmen. The musicians were fabulous. Set... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
10 events
2 reviews
6 stars
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 17 2008

I really liked the presentation. Highly skilled artists, wonderful voices, gorgeous setting. Thanks!

Yelena

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Dee
3 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 19 2008

If you love opera, and especially Carmen, go see this performance! The singers, orchestra and production were all excellent. The ticket price is a bargain compared to other productions of this quality.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
30 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 25 2008

The performance was excellent! The singers and orchestra were amazing. The location (Lucie Stern Theatre) was also great because it was a much smaller opera house - therefore every seat was a great seat!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
0 stars
4 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Oct 19 2008

for a local production it was well done....however, the theater was freezing cold and many people left early because there was reportedly no way to turn down the AC or shut off the fan!!!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Oct 19 2008

It was a very good performance and we recommend seeing Carmen.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
6 events
1 review
3 stars
attended Oct 26 2008

The venue ; Lucie Stern Center in Palo Alto - every seat in the house is a good one because it is such a small venue. Great acoustics and lighting etc. Delicious... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
71 events
1 review
5 stars
attended Oct 19 2008

Well performed but no UMPH...Also, casting should be more considerate.
P C aside - We wish Don José would better fit the image of a desirable lover.

star this review starred report as inappropriate