Dances with songs 011309
4.9 / 5 Rated by 27 members
Review from A Genie

They're an excellent ballet company. I highly recommend seeing them.

reviewed Mar 01 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Stacey W.

I've been attending Smuin ballets for about 7 or 8 years and have never been disappointed. Even my husband likes them! Goldstar makes it possible to see them even more frequently with their great prices. Smuin's shows are fun; dances have humor...continued

reviewed Feb 28 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Judy Miller Kaine

loved the event, however seats got expensive with the service charge and the seats were not that good

reviewed Mar 01 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Kenneth Solnit

Just wonderful. I'm not a big ballet fan, but I love Smuin shows. They use modern, popular music that we love, and modern, expressive choreography that we can enjoy.

reviewed Feb 28 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Veronica Breuer

The ballet was excellent. I have seen a no. of Smuin Ballet performances over the years but might not have gone this time if it were not for Goldstar.

reviewed Feb 28 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Lori Magder Amedore

They are one of the most exciting dance companies to every come along. They are incredibly versitile, moving, funny and sensual. There Christmas Ballet is not to be missed.

reviewed Mar 01 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Lynne Dempsey

Always an interesting night-a variety of subjects and styles.

reviewed Feb 27 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

One of the best dance performances I've seen in a long time!

reviewed Feb 28 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

Smuin Ballet is always a crowd-pleaser. Their approach is extremely innovative, and they connect very well with their audience.

reviewed Feb 27 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Carol Barrettsmith

It's a wonderful ballet and so innovative. Very creative and performed by very skillful dancers. The seats were great too!

reviewed Feb 27 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Yellow Rose

A really great evening at the ballet!

reviewed Feb 28 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Jennifer Rehor

"Carmen, Dances with Songs" was a breath-taking explosion of dance, choreography, costumes, passion, and sensuality. You forget that men and women can walk, leap, spin, and dance with such grace and beauty.

Smuin Ballet excels at being...continued

reviewed Feb 28 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

Wonderful pieces, talented performers. I especially loved the third section, short pieces set to old favorite songs by Nat King Cole and others. It was amusing, refreshing, and delightful.

reviewed Mar 01 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

Can't wait until May when Smuin comes back to Mountain View with another production!

reviewed Mar 01 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

I absolutely loved the ballet! It wasn't what I expected at all! There was a little touch of traditional ballet, but barely - and I am grateful! I loved the more contemporary music that was used in this ballet, and all of the sensuous innuendos...continued

reviewed Mar 01 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

I love this local ballet troupe!

reviewed Feb 28 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Robert D. Greiss

I prefer the San Jose Ballet group more than the Smuin.
Some of the ballets seem to be gymnastic events.
Carmen was too long.

reviewed Feb 28 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Roberta

The Smuin offers inventive choreography and amazingly accomplished dancers. Their acting and comedic abilities match their balletic virtuousity. What a delight this program was. I can't wait for the spring season!

reviewed Mar 01 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

As is true of all the Smuin Ballet performances, this performance was flawless, inspiring, and emotionally moving. I loved and am looking forward to the Spring program.

reviewed Mar 01 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

Awesome and innovative. Highly recommend. Went for the Carmen (huge Miles fan) but actually enjoyed the frust and the pieces much more.

reviewed Feb 27 2009 report as inappropriate
previous 1