Dreamgirls 121109
4.2 / 5 Rated by 14 members
Review from TT
12 events 4 reviews

Overall he show was good but not great...some of the choreographed dancing was not professionally skilled enough.
The actors that played Curtis, Effie White and Lorelle were very good. And Jimmy Early was hilarious..
Not sure why --but 2...continued

reviewed Dec 16 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Angela
28 events 25 reviews

Seats were good...amazing vocals! Definitely glad I went!

reviewed Dec 21 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Louise Cohen-Silver
27 events 11 reviews

Spectacular! Great choreography, high energy show!
The sets were really fun and every seat in the orchestra was great!

reviewed Dec 23 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Samuel Caldwell Jr.
15 events 7 reviews

I was pleasantly surprised at this show. I saw the original show on Broadway in the 80's with Jennifer Holiday and Sheryl Lee Ralph and can say that this production rivals the original one. The voices, dancing, and almost instant, magical costume...continued

reviewed Dec 23 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
19 events 7 reviews

The show was fantastic! A little long for my tastes, however, it was greatly cheoreographed and the people were very talented. I would recommend it to anyone.

reviewed Dec 23 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Ashley
5 events 5 reviews

It was a wonderful production. The new song was a great addition. I enjoyed myself thoroughly!! Dreamgirls was my fav movie from 2006, and this version of the musical made me appreciate it all the more!!

reviewed Dec 23 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Victor Danau
6 events 4 reviews

Excellent show, drove in hardcore traffic from DC, but it was well worth it! The cast was fantastic and received a very loong standing applause. I was afraid it would let down after seeing the movie first, but the show held its own.

The venue...continued

reviewed Dec 22 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Bluepig1
9 events 3 reviews

There were great singers and there were ok singers -- and 2 actresses replaced at the beginning of Act 2 really emphasized this as the quality of the singing seemed to drop off dramatically. The actress playing Effie was a phenomenal...continued

reviewed Dec 16 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Troy
4 events 1 review

Great leads, unfortunately the understudies are not of the same caliber. Will be a great production once it gets its sea legs.

reviewed Dec 16 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
1 event 1 review

The acting and singing was phenomenal. Couldn't really see well, though, as is always a problem at the Hippodrome.

reviewed Dec 23 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from Scott Schiller
10 events 1 review

The male actors, especially the one playing Jimmy, lead the pack. The female artists were weak, incude Effe, who was flat alot.
Nice staging and production design.
At 3 hours it was a bit long.

reviewed Dec 23 2009 report as inappropriate