Sfs ragnarbohlin messiah 1107111
4.6 / 5 Rated by 114 members
Review from Goldstar Event-Goer
Red Velvet 120 events 76 reviews

The event was beautiful, although my companion and I did not personally like the voice quality of the second soprano. We found the first soprano to be sublime, however, and the baritone very pleasing. Overall, it was a memorable performance.

reviewed Dec 18 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from JUNE I
Red Velvet 76 events 50 reviews

San Francisco Symphony and Chorus put on a wonderful production of Handel's Messiah. The soprano, Mezzo-soprano, tenor and bass all sang wonderfully. The was especially good.
The sing along portion was short but sweet. The conductor maintained...continued

reviewed Dec 14 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from John
Red Velvet 28 events 14 reviews

Great performance. Attendingg a Messiah performance kicks off the holiday season for me. This was a great way to do that. The performance, the venue, the atmosphere -- all were great.

reviewed Dec 18 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Marcelo
Red Velvet 13 events 4 reviews

Lovely concert, great choir and very good soloists. And I love Davies Symphony Hall. All in all, a good way to get in the holiday spirit.

reviewed Dec 15 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from redwoodcub
Red Velvet 26 events 2 reviews

SF Symphony Chorus Director Ragnar Bohlin gave a superb, full interpretation of Messiah. It was precise and restrained, rather than exuberant and energetic, as you might expect from Michael Tilson Thomas. All of the soloists performed well and...continued

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Ruth Robertson
131 events 86 reviews

Perfect production in every sense of the word! It is not often that one has the opportunity to hear the complete, uncut version of Handel's "Messiah" and it was done spotlessly by all the performers.

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from George
120 events 71 reviews

It was very beautiful. Much of the reason why I went was to be part of the audience during the christmas season. The piece is long and I knew that but it was worth sitting thru just to be somewhere so beautiful

reviewed Dec 15 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Fran Severance
74 events 59 reviews

Wonderful!

reviewed Dec 14 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from rebecca
116 events 30 reviews

Good performance, especially from the bass. some of the audience member was lame, clapped during each break in the first half. Someone should just make an announcement in the beginning so people would know.

reviewed Dec 14 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Steve Bakaley
42 events 23 reviews

It was pretty much a perfect rendition of the Messiah. As I expected, the acoustics from 2 -premier Second Tier were excellent

reviewed Dec 17 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Mary M
26 events 22 reviews

Fantastic seats, great price, loved the performance.

reviewed Dec 15 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from victorvictorian
46 events 22 reviews

good concert. was a choppy performance as the conductor stopped at the end of each piece and waited rather than letting the music flow. they stopped the performance for nearly 10 minutes to let inconsiderate latecomers be seated. i've never seen...continued

reviewed Dec 15 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Antonijan
47 events 21 reviews

Amazeballs!!!!

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from hula buddah
28 events 18 reviews

Great way, and a great place to get into the Christmas holiday spirit. Had seats in thr first
tier which gave us a good view of the stage and
the orchestra. The singing was excellent, and the
conducting was super. Would gladly plan to return...continued

reviewed Dec 15 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from mseaton
48 events 16 reviews

Everything was wonderful: the Christmas trees in the lobby, the 4 soloists, the large choir and the orchestra. A glorious evening of music.

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Jennie R.
76 events 16 reviews

Incredible! Don't miss it!

reviewed Dec 14 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from mei
26 events 11 reviews

Great! Nice venue. We got seats in the last row in the upper balcony. We could see everything, just that it everything was small. But since there really isn't anything to see, I was ok with it.

reviewed Dec 18 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Carolyn Rissanen
44 events 11 reviews

Very well performed - love the venue - seats were great - five stars!

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Louise Flores
77 events 10 reviews

Its been a long time since ive seen a performance and to see it again in all its glory was a memory that i will remember for a long time

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
20 events 10 reviews

wonderful!

reviewed Dec 18 2011 report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4