Sfs ragnarbohlin messiah 1107111
4.6 / 5 Rated by 114 members
Review from cyn945
21 events 2 reviews

Sublime performance! Great seats and beautiful location. Five Stars for the event.

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Carolyn Rissanen
44 events 11 reviews

Very well performed - love the venue - seats were great - five stars!

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Clifford
14 events 8 reviews

The soloists were wonderful.

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Susan Susan
21 events 4 reviews

The seats were excellent, musicians and chorus top notch!
My first time at this venue and it is amazing!

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from MJP
12 events 2 reviews

The performance was very good.

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Cori Pansarasa
17 events 2 reviews

This was a gorgeous production. The soloists had rich but subtle voices and the choir was magnificent. I thought a more tender side of the piece was brought to the fore and it brought tears to my eyes. Bravo, brava, all. Thank you.

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Dave Landeck
8 events 1 review

Fantastic choir! Really got us in the spirit of Christmas. Davies was beautiful.

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Leslie Dennen
6 events 1 review

Great way to kick off the holiday season.

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Charlotte Merrill Durnin
2 events 1 review

This was a beautiful event! The tix were easy to pick up at will call, the seats were much better than I expected, the music was perfect!

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Event-Goer
Red Velvet 120 events 76 reviews

The event was beautiful, although my companion and I did not personally like the voice quality of the second soprano. We found the first soprano to be sublime, however, and the baritone very pleasing. Overall, it was a memorable performance.

reviewed Dec 18 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from JUNE I
Red Velvet 76 events 50 reviews

San Francisco Symphony and Chorus put on a wonderful production of Handel's Messiah. The soprano, Mezzo-soprano, tenor and bass all sang wonderfully. The was especially good.
The sing along portion was short but sweet. The conductor maintained...continued

reviewed Dec 14 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from John
Red Velvet 28 events 14 reviews

Great performance. Attendingg a Messiah performance kicks off the holiday season for me. This was a great way to do that. The performance, the venue, the atmosphere -- all were great.

reviewed Dec 18 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Marcelo
Red Velvet 13 events 4 reviews

Lovely concert, great choir and very good soloists. And I love Davies Symphony Hall. All in all, a good way to get in the holiday spirit.

reviewed Dec 15 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from redwoodcub
Red Velvet 26 events 2 reviews

SF Symphony Chorus Director Ragnar Bohlin gave a superb, full interpretation of Messiah. It was precise and restrained, rather than exuberant and energetic, as you might expect from Michael Tilson Thomas. All of the soloists performed well and...continued

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Ruth Robertson
130 events 86 reviews

Perfect production in every sense of the word! It is not often that one has the opportunity to hear the complete, uncut version of Handel's "Messiah" and it was done spotlessly by all the performers.

reviewed Dec 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from George
120 events 71 reviews

It was very beautiful. Much of the reason why I went was to be part of the audience during the christmas season. The piece is long and I knew that but it was worth sitting thru just to be somewhere so beautiful

reviewed Dec 15 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Fran Severance
74 events 59 reviews

Wonderful!

reviewed Dec 14 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from rebecca
113 events 30 reviews

Good performance, especially from the bass. some of the audience member was lame, clapped during each break in the first half. Someone should just make an announcement in the beginning so people would know.

reviewed Dec 14 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Steve Bakaley
42 events 23 reviews

It was pretty much a perfect rendition of the Messiah. As I expected, the acoustics from 2 -premier Second Tier were excellent

reviewed Dec 17 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Mary M
26 events 22 reviews

Fantastic seats, great price, loved the performance.

reviewed Dec 15 2012 report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4