Let me down easy 113010
4.6 / 5 Rated by 28 members
Review from Donna
122 events 14 reviews

She is amazing and you totally believe she is the character. We all enjoyed.

reviewed Dec 31 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Amy T
Red Velvet 268 events 68 reviews

I did not especially enjoy this, although my companion liked it much more than I did. I thought the show was a bit disjointed, relying too heavily on quotes from celebrities. In a number of these cases, you were left wondering what the subject...continued

reviewed Jan 02 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Vicky Schwartz
Red Velvet 950 events 20 reviews

I think the show is too long--one hour and forty minutes. Several people in the audience fell asleep and others looked bored. The show could use some editing.

reviewed Jan 02 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Diana Ordin
Red Velvet 43 events 3 reviews

What a gift she has given us!

reviewed Jan 01 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from baf
118 events 68 reviews

Go--it's outstanding!

reviewed Dec 31 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from jloewen
35 events 23 reviews

Another A.D. Smith show, where she inhabits more than a score of characters effectively. Less continuity than some of her shows. The vignettes are connected only in that they treat health care and death.

reviewed Dec 31 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Candace Cotton
38 events 19 reviews

The show was a bit slow at first, but we got more into it as it went on. It probably was a bit too long. It is a bit disjointed, but she does an amazing job inhabiting the characters. A few of them were particularly poignant.

reviewed Jan 02 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from gary galloway
65 events 12 reviews

Great play and the new Arena Stage is gorgeous. No bad seats in the house.

reviewed Jan 07 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from EHardwick
15 events 8 reviews

I love Anna Deveare Smith's work. It is always so perceptive. I wish that more Republicans would go see this moving piece before they decide to dismantle the health care law.

reviewed Dec 31 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Janet Hughes
21 events 8 reviews

she is marvelous - the nuances of movement to convey different characters. she totally nails them. Really makes you think about death, dying and illness.. My friend however, found it too long without any real action.

reviewed Jan 04 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from twistyhair
15 events 8 reviews

This is an interesting piece of theater. It's great to see Ms. Smith embody so many very different characters. I left the theater feeling that the topic of health care was too broad to be well-suited for this type of presentation.

My only...continued

reviewed Jan 07 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from cfontein
11 events 5 reviews

Must See!! Anna Deavere Smith is amazing as an actor - every move is choreographed perfectly. The content of the show is profound in and of itself but her performance is unbelievable. I'm going again!

reviewed Dec 31 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
26 events 4 reviews

ADS has an uncanny ability to mime a large number of characters, but in this show the effect is far less than in her other work. Several segments were poignant and moving, but several others were pointless, overly long and seemingly unrelated to...continued

reviewed Jan 04 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from ElvisLoveChild
11 events 4 reviews

ADS is captivating - she completely inhabits her characters. The material was funny, smart, poignant, thought-provoking. Ms. Smith is a brilliant artist (guess that's why she won a MacArthur grant!)
The theater is beautiful, although these...continued

reviewed Jan 04 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from ltierste
30 events 4 reviews

As usual, Anna Deveare Smith is excellent -- how one woman can convincingly portray so many different characters -- men and women -- is wondrous. I didn't think the "narrative" hung together as much as some of her previous works, but still...continued

reviewed Jan 02 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from amytee2002
5 events 4 reviews

Awesome! It's insane how an actress can inhibit so many different characters back to back with all their different mannerisms and accents, she's a true artist.

reviewed Dec 31 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from GailForman
29 events 4 reviews

The show was fabulous!

reviewed Jan 02 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from susan beckerman
9 events 3 reviews

A wonderful opportunity to see acting as real craft. Thoroughly enjoyed the performance.

reviewed Jan 07 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from alyssa3
20 events 3 reviews

She's a gem. An incredible actress with profound studies of the human condition and society at large.

reviewed Jan 02 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Carol S.
5 events 2 reviews

Anna is Absolutely Brilliant! She transforms herself which transforms her audience! Our young adult children loved it too!

reviewed Jan 07 2011 report as inappropriate
previous 1