Bookofliz

The Book of Liz

Costa Mesa Playhouse (Costa Mesa, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

11 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
88 events
42 reviews
2 stars
attended Feb 04 2011

The playhouse facilities were great. The staff was helpful. The play was "wacky" but fun. The cast was excellent and did a great job. Very enjoyable evening.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
30 events
10 reviews
2 stars
attended Feb 04 2011

Loved the play! It was absolutely original and delightful. I wasn't expecting too much from this little theater and its cast, but I was really surprised. The 90 minutes without intermission flew by.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Feb 04 2011

With such a wacky description of the play, one has to wonder what to expect. It really turned out to be an excellently written and executed play. Each character was... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
4 reviews
6 stars
attended Feb 18 2011

It was an unexpected pleasure. Did not know by the description what was to be but well worth it. It was a fun play with great characters and acting.
Seating is intimate. Enjoyed!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 20 2011

The acting, staging, directing all far exceeded expectations of a small community theater. The show had humor and poignancy and I highly recommend catching it before it closes.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 18 2011

A bit slow making its point but it ultimately got there, providing an entertaining exchange between members of the cast - many played multiple roles. Intimate seating, good staging provide for an enjoyable evening.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 18 2011

Cute, funny play at tiny community theater

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Feb 20 2011

The play is very cute and entertaining. I was a little surprised at the amount of cussing in the dialog. It did not seem necessary for the plot or for the understanding of the story. I did enjoy the play and the acting was good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
8 reviews
13 stars
attended Feb 25 2011

I loved it. The cast was phenomenal! I would see it again!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 26 2011

Although the performance was not stellar I did enjoy myself. I did laugh and again my guests and I all enjoyed the performance

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Feb 27 2011

I like Amy and David Sedaris very much, and would like to give 3 stars for their writing. Unfortunately, the production and performances were so notably amateur that I... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate