1562465 tragedy commons
4.3 / 5 Rated by 35 members
Review from Andrea Szeredy
Red Velvet 262 events 194 reviews

Just was o.k. - sorry it was not up to par.

reviewed Oct 16 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Dennis Trigubetz
245 events 137 reviews

All around fine cast, except that I felt the Dan Gerard character, played by Jeffrey Stubblefield, was an extraneous and unneeded insertion in to the play. Rachel Noll, as Ellen Adams, gave a nice unforced acting effort, as did Edward Edwards as...continued

reviewed Nov 19 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from C.Gates
148 events 53 reviews

Good Acting & Good production

reviewed Oct 09 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Ilene Werner
127 events 52 reviews

Brian Kerwin's acting was great, but the storyline was not.

reviewed Nov 19 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Lorna Boyd
114 events 34 reviews

great story, wonderfully written, and incredible performances, esp by Brian Kerwin. we loved it.

reviewed Nov 04 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from a carlin
52 events 23 reviews

Intriguing play, excellent cast, powerfully directed. A tour de force performance by Brian Kerwin. For me, the play illuminated--in a contemporary and very familiar context--the pain of holding on // trying to hold back the tide...of change. ...continued

reviewed Oct 29 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Kerry F.
44 events 22 reviews

The Tragedy of the Commons is a journey we have all taken, it starts out innocent enough but at the end we are in a strange place wandering how we got there.
The entire cast was excellent, I can not stress this enough however, Brian Kerwin's very...continued

reviewed Oct 30 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Michele R.
48 events 21 reviews

The acting was superb.
We enjoyed this performance a lot.A very pleasant evening spent.
Thanks to all actors.
Michele.R

reviewed Nov 12 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Kate Walsh
39 events 13 reviews

Brian Kerwin had quite a task to perform and did very well at it. The small space presented a challenge to the fourth wall, but all did well with that, too. We talked about the play all the way home.

reviewed Nov 20 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Linda L.
54 events 11 reviews

Entertaining, thought-provoking, at times heart-breaking. Brian Kerwin and Leslie Hicks are superb actors. Don't miss this one!

reviewed Nov 06 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Alice
19 events 10 reviews

This is a deep and difficult psychological play, beautifully acted, and well directed, about a family who lost their son in NY on 9/11 and how that incident affected their lives.

reviewed Oct 09 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Susan
136 events 9 reviews

A truly outstanding performance by Brian Kerwin! Leslie Hicks is equally great. Excellent cast all around. Intelligent writing and relatable themes. Exceeded my expectations, See it. You won't be sorry.

reviewed Oct 29 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
13 events 9 reviews

Interesting story line. Cast first rate. Strong first act, a slightly less effective second act.
Good direction and adequate set.

Comfortable seats and easy parking.
Rewarding evening of theatre.

reviewed Oct 29 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Steve
13 events 4 reviews

Excellent writing and acting. Kerwin and Hicks were amazing. This is a real treat for the L.A. audience - a Broadway-level production in a very intimate space.

reviewed Oct 16 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Chris Rennolds
5 events 4 reviews

If you can possibly get in to see this, DO IT! One of the best evenings you will spend in the theatre with uniformly excellent performances and a spectacular Brian Kerwin in the lead. You only have one weekend left. GO!

reviewed Oct 30 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from PJ
11 events 4 reviews

So nice to see these great actors together.

reviewed Nov 12 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
9 events 3 reviews

Despite a borderline heavy theme the acting was all top notch!

reviewed Oct 16 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from the winster
21 events 3 reviews

my husband (who's a hard sell) and i both loved the play. i didn't know what to expect from such a small theater, but was so pleasantly surprised. the acting by the 2 main characters was outstanding. i have recommended it to several people.

reviewed Nov 05 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Deezee
36 events 3 reviews

Pros: Excellent acting; nice job of staging in a very small venue.

Cons: Play moved along at an agonizingly slow rate; theme was hackneyed; virtually no plot. I usually enjoy productions at the Ruskin, but I thought this one would never end.

reviewed Nov 05 2011 report as inappropriate
Review from Anne Marie Otey
6 events 2 reviews

A stunning opportunity to enjoy the work of a leading actor. The play is still resonating in my mind. Original, very emotional, intelligent, Broadway-caliber theater that would hold attention on a much larger stage.

reviewed Nov 04 2011 report as inappropriate
previous 1