Red1
4.6 / 5 Rated by 59 members
jmcc
Review from jmcc
Red Velvet 138 events 60 reviews

Outstanding performance. A two hand play that was perfectly cast and exceedingly well acted. They maintained their energy throughout.

reviewed Mar 10 2012 report as inappropriate
Susan Forbush
Review from Susan Forbush
Red Velvet 140 events 27 reviews

Overrated and overpriced even on goldstar!

reviewed Mar 08 2012 report as inappropriate
Leslie Baldwin
Review from Leslie Baldwin
Red Velvet 45 events 26 reviews

After reading about this play I was excited, but the play disappointed me a bit. It was slow and static in parts. The main actor was great though and the new Arena Stage is a great venue.

reviewed Mar 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Dorothy
Review from Dorothy
Red Velvet 85 events 26 reviews

Excellent performances of two actors who were absolutely powerful, touching and poignant. How do you put all of those adjectives together?

reviewed Mar 06 2012 report as inappropriate
Ann Blitzstein Folb
Review from Ann Blitzstein Folb
Red Velvet 109 events 24 reviews

Very Powerful!

reviewed Mar 10 2012 report as inappropriate
faith luck
Review from faith luck
Red Velvet 30 events 11 reviews

The performances were excellent--Very enjoyable play!

reviewed Mar 07 2012 report as inappropriate
Michael
Review from Michael
Red Velvet 21 events 5 reviews

Incredible intensity from the actors. Each gave a strong performance. My only reservation was with the book. Too many ideas, important comments, etc. thrown out in such a short time. Would have improved the book by simplifying the theme(s). Rothko...continued

reviewed Mar 07 2012 report as inappropriate
Sandy Leibowitz
Review from Sandy Leibowitz
Red Velvet 16 events 5 reviews

Rothko talks about his intense beliefs;he cares little for others. He seems intensely jealous of Pollack, uncaring of most people. He is a troubled human being.
I liked the acting, but felt the text needs help.

reviewed Mar 10 2012 report as inappropriate
CP
Review from CP
Red Velvet 30 events 4 reviews

Excellent. Ed Gero as always is a tour de force. His young sidekick also performed well. A very intense, eye opening look into the life of artist Mark Rothko.

reviewed Mar 07 2012 report as inappropriate
paulwhtaylor
Review from paulwhtaylor
Red Velvet 12 events 4 reviews

Interesting play and excellent production.

reviewed Mar 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Pamela Meek
Review from Pamela Meek
Red Velvet 14 events 4 reviews

This play was spectacular. The script, set and acting were perfect.

reviewed Mar 11 2012 report as inappropriate
I don't want a profile name
Review from I don't want a profile name
Red Velvet 5 events 1 review

excellent production. Ed Gero as Mark Rothko was so very convincing, that he makes you realize what an a** that the real Rothko was in person. The painting scene was beautifully choreographed applause breaks out when the canvas is completely...continued

reviewed Mar 10 2012 report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
Review from Goldstar Member
Red Velvet 1 event 1 review

If you like Rothko, you should see this play. This play is just a part of his life before his rather colorful but serene paintings. You will love this play.

reviewed Mar 10 2012 report as inappropriate
Kay
Review from Kay
40 events 27 reviews

The acting was excellent. The set worked perfectly. The length was just right. Full house so thanks Goldstar!!

reviewed Mar 07 2012 report as inappropriate
Cindy
Review from Cindy
47 events 24 reviews

Loved the acting and set/props.

reviewed Mar 10 2012 report as inappropriate
Spreiregen Rose-Helene
Review from Spreiregen Rose-Helene
40 events 23 reviews

Excellent play. Well performed.

A little long, though. I must say it was better not to have an intermission. It worked out better, but, it made it very long.

reviewed Mar 08 2012 report as inappropriate
Carol
Review from Carol
32 events 19 reviews

What an incredible production from the acting to the scenery, props and staging. But best of all I learned so much about an artist I have always liked, although I have never known why I liked him. tThe play gave me real insight into the depth of...continued

reviewed Mar 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Patphelps
Review from Patphelps
24 events 8 reviews

The acting,the set, and the play were all outstanding. The insights into Rothko were as illuminating as the art.

reviewed Mar 06 2012 report as inappropriate
Jessica Tava
Review from Jessica Tava
25 events 5 reviews

One of the best plays I've seen in years. Thoughtful dialogue, superb acting.

reviewed Mar 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Jane Stein
Review from Jane Stein
8 events 4 reviews

Don't miss this play. Afterwards, go the the Phillips and the National Gallery to spend time with Rothko paintings.

reviewed Mar 07 2012 report as inappropriate
previous 1