Red1
4.6 / 5 Rated by 59 members
Review from jmcc
Red Velvet 129 events 58 reviews

Outstanding performance. A two hand play that was perfectly cast and exceedingly well acted. They maintained their energy throughout.

reviewed Mar 10 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Cindy
Red Velvet 45 events 24 reviews

Loved the acting and set/props.

reviewed Mar 10 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Patphelps
Red Velvet 24 events 8 reviews

The acting,the set, and the play were all outstanding. The insights into Rothko were as illuminating as the art.

reviewed Mar 06 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Susan Forbush
136 events 27 reviews

Overrated and overpriced even on goldstar!

reviewed Mar 08 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Kay
40 events 27 reviews

The acting was excellent. The set worked perfectly. The length was just right. Full house so thanks Goldstar!!

reviewed Mar 07 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Leslie Baldwin
41 events 26 reviews

After reading about this play I was excited, but the play disappointed me a bit. It was slow and static in parts. The main actor was great though and the new Arena Stage is a great venue.

reviewed Mar 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Dorothy
85 events 26 reviews

Excellent performances of two actors who were absolutely powerful, touching and poignant. How do you put all of those adjectives together?

reviewed Mar 06 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Ann Blitzstein Folb
104 events 24 reviews

Very Powerful!

reviewed Mar 10 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Spreiregen Rose-Helene
40 events 23 reviews

Excellent play. Well performed.

A little long, though. I must say it was better not to have an intermission. It worked out better, but, it made it very long.

reviewed Mar 08 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Carol
30 events 18 reviews

What an incredible production from the acting to the scenery, props and staging. But best of all I learned so much about an artist I have always liked, although I have never known why I liked him. tThe play gave me real insight into the depth of...continued

reviewed Mar 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from faith luck
26 events 9 reviews

The performances were excellent--Very enjoyable play!

reviewed Mar 07 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Michael
19 events 5 reviews

Incredible intensity from the actors. Each gave a strong performance. My only reservation was with the book. Too many ideas, important comments, etc. thrown out in such a short time. Would have improved the book by simplifying the theme(s). Rothko...continued

reviewed Mar 07 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Jessica Tava
25 events 5 reviews

One of the best plays I've seen in years. Thoughtful dialogue, superb acting.

reviewed Mar 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Jane Stein
8 events 4 reviews

Don't miss this play. Afterwards, go the the Phillips and the National Gallery to spend time with Rothko paintings.

reviewed Mar 07 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Marina Hranac
10 events 4 reviews

Enjoyed learning more about Rothko himself, and really like Arena Stage and the set. I definitely look forward to seeing another production there.

reviewed Mar 08 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from CP
27 events 4 reviews

Excellent. Ed Gero as always is a tour de force. His young sidekick also performed well. A very intense, eye opening look into the life of artist Mark Rothko.

reviewed Mar 07 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
10 events 4 reviews

Intense, thrilling show; pitch perfect acting;
covers large themes.

reviewed Mar 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from paulwhtaylor
12 events 4 reviews

Interesting play and excellent production.

reviewed Mar 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Dwane Starlin
15 events 4 reviews

It was a remarkable play! And the production was well done and presented in a remarkable space. Although I have always been impressed by Ed Gero the other actor dominated the show.

reviewed Mar 07 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Sandy Leibowitz
10 events 4 reviews

Rothko talks about his intense beliefs;he cares little for others. He seems intensely jealous of Pollack, uncaring of most people. He is a troubled human being.
I liked the acting, but felt the text needs help.

reviewed Mar 10 2012 report as inappropriate
previous 1