Themarch 0406121
3.8 / 5 Rated by 16 members
Review from FranandBill
5 events 2 reviews

My husband and I found the performance to be very insightful and thought provoking. We left the theater with a better understanding of the Civil War.

reviewed May 17 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from second city
Red Velvet 25 events 3 reviews

The play captured the feeling of the book well, and the emotions and contradictions of the civil war. at times it was hard to hear some of the actors. At 3 hours, it was a bit long, but did not drag.

reviewed Jun 05 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Patricia
16 events 5 reviews

I thought the performance was exceptional, and I would without reservation recommend this show to anyone, whether they were interested in history or not.

reviewed May 27 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Rachel
23 events 5 reviews

If it wasn't the Steppenwolf doing this play, it would have been interminable. Sometimes (often) novels don't make the best source material for plays; this one suffered from too many characters and too little chance for the excellent actors to...continued

reviewed Apr 13 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
6 events 4 reviews

I was disappointed in the play. It was too long (3 hours) and uneven in interest level. Parts dragged horribly. The actors were frequently difficult to understand; articulation was not clear. I expected more.

reviewed May 26 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Sharon
5 events 4 reviews

The March was good but longer than it could have been. Perhaps that was the intent as the march to the sea was also very long. The individual stories of the characters were human and possible to that time. It was worth seeing.

reviewed May 27 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from corvinus1066
6 events 3 reviews

Interesting and well performed . The Confederates looked superb; the Federal a bit theatre-like.Superb performance by Ian Barford,Carrie Coon,James Vincent,Alana Arenas, and I quite enjoyed Martha Lavey!

reviewed Jun 09 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
2 events 2 reviews

A big undertaking, and they pull it off very well. Huge cast and splendid direction synthesizes, in a dramatic fashion, Doctrow's epic novel. 2 hours and 45 minutes fly by in a compelling manner.

reviewed Jun 06 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from David Severance
5 events 2 reviews

Good overview of Civil War as it winds down, mostly from the northern point of view... the play follows most of Doctorow's main characters through Georgia and the Carolinas

I thought maybe the play relied too much on individual speeches the...continued

reviewed Jun 09 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
2 events 1 review

Much too long, the production badly needs a tight edit. Disappointing.

reviewed Jun 02 2012 report as inappropriate