Lorca 042712
3.9 / 5 Rated by 13 members
Review from Goldstar Member
2 events 2 reviews

I very much enjoyed the music and the singing, especially the Lorca role. But since it was about Lorca,I expected the libretto to be more poetic. I also found the staging to be dull.

reviewed May 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Skimeup
Red Velvet 71 events 26 reviews

I am a huge fan of Long Beach Opera but at the reception afterwards, everyone seemed to feel that as good as LBO is, this was the best thing ever. A full lush orchestra, beautiful music, and great singing. More of a "music drama" than an opera.

reviewed May 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Kenyon Brown
658 events 377 reviews

Enjoyed the pre-show talk - well at least the parts in English... Theatrical staging, lead singers were quite strong. Great venue.

reviewed May 26 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Marlene F. Mills
44 events 16 reviews

I don't always like modern opera, but I absolutely loved this one. As to the LBO, the singers and the orchestra were terrific. I am so glad I saw the offer on Goldstar as otherwise I wouldn't have known that it was being performed localy.

reviewed May 26 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Saskia
17 events 11 reviews

Ainadamar is a reflection on the death of Federico Garcia Lorca told through the eyes of Margarita Xirgu, a celebrated actress and personal friend of the poet and playwright who kept his works alive. The opera beautifully executed by Long Beach...continued

reviewed May 26 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
20 events 6 reviews

superb performance, voices, sets, music, libretto and basic concept concerning Federico Garcia-Lorca

reviewed May 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from musewoman
16 events 4 reviews

Not to be missed! The music, orchestra and singers are marvelous. The lighting designer is a genius. This little opera company is able to do far more on a dime than LA Opera with its debauched mega-millions.

reviewed May 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Jenee Gossard
5 events 3 reviews

Beautiful, exciting music, well played and sung. Odd staging.

reviewed May 26 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Sonia Pawluczyk
4 events 2 reviews

I saw this Opera the previous week, there were many details I wanted to see again therefore I decided not to miss the opportunity and see the performance the next week (it is not the first time I do this). The "mise en scene" was very different...continued

reviewed May 26 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
1 event 1 review

Very static. The voices were good but they used amplification and it was hard to know where the voices were coming from! This is a chamber opera and perhaps the venue was too large.

reviewed May 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from veronica
2 events 1 review

horrible it was 90 minutes of torment

reviewed May 20 2012 report as inappropriate