Smuin 090712
4.5 / 5 Rated by 120 members
Review from Scott Carter
Red Velvet 821 events 444 reviews

This wonderful company continues to amaze. They really set the bar high for themselves and the entire ballet/dance community. Another flawless, stunning production.

reviewed Oct 06 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Janice Nieder
Red Velvet 314 events 99 reviews

love the Place of fine arts. Not a bad seat in the house and perfect for viewing Smuin. Very well done though I do miss Smuin's touch. I particularly liked the piece choreographed by the man from Lousiville. Very clever

reviewed Oct 13 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Bella
Red Velvet 48 events 8 reviews

Smuin is better than ever

reviewed Oct 13 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Bill Ward
Red Velvet 32 events 7 reviews

Smuin never fails to please me with talented dancers, beautiful choreography, and amazing presentation (lighting, costumes, sound, etc.)

reviewed Oct 12 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from mthrift327@aol.com
187 events 52 reviews

Loved this whole performance! Loved the modern development added and extending the Ballet Dance Experience. Well worth seeing!

reviewed Oct 13 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Karen
67 events 44 reviews

Lovely dancing, beautiful venue!

reviewed Oct 06 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from carole
58 events 41 reviews

I was quite dissappointed in the lack of originality and diversity in the performance.

reviewed Oct 05 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from JackieDavisMartin
85 events 40 reviews

The Smuin dancers are extremely accomplished. I thought the program was repetitive in its movements and themes. For instance, not once but three times there was a solo male dancer in a bathing suit. The group work was more interesting, but even...continued

reviewed Oct 14 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from rebecca
116 events 30 reviews

Cold virtues set to philip glass' music was brilliant. The other pieces are a bit lackluster, absent of intensity and the modern ballet movements are a bit out of place set to gipsy king and the shins. shins.

reviewed Oct 06 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Alissa Ralston
35 events 22 reviews

First rate.

reviewed Oct 13 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from JitterbugAnnie
23 events 22 reviews

The Smuin Fall Program showing at the Palace of Fine Arts Theater was wonderful. Not your grandma's ballet -- and very enjoyable! This theater is fairly small. We had 'bronze' tickets and our seats were great. There is free parking nearby with a...continued

reviewed Oct 14 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from klamprecht
34 events 22 reviews

Wonderful variety of contemporary ballet and beautifully danced.

reviewed Oct 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from JanetS
25 events 18 reviews

This is totally manageable dance. Great variety of styles, great dancers, inspiring and enjoyable.

reviewed Oct 14 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from James
21 events 17 reviews

We generally enjoyed the program but could have done with one less intermission. The Philip Glass number was particularly enthralling.

reviewed Oct 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from jooliecoolie
21 events 14 reviews

best smuin performance i've seen yet.

reviewed Oct 13 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from montclairguy
26 events 12 reviews

Pleasant, not exciting dance - repetitive - indecipherable narratives

reviewed Oct 11 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Sandi
63 events 11 reviews

The program was enjoyable. But, Adam Hoaglund's piece "Cold Virtue" was brilliant.

reviewed Oct 14 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Ray Bacerdo
37 events 9 reviews

Mesmerizing and inspiring dance numbers! Loved it!

reviewed Oct 12 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Elliot Simon
12 events 9 reviews

This was a thrilling evening of dance! It helped to have dead center seats. But it was the great choreography, dancing, costuming, and lighting that made it such a rich experience.

reviewed Oct 13 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from lindamft
14 events 8 reviews

I enjoyed it very much. It is a combination of ballet and modern dance. The Palace of Fine Arts is a beautiful theater and with comfortable seats and good site lines from all the seats.

reviewed Oct 06 2012 report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4