Russian nutcracker 20121
4.1 / 5 Rated by 26 members
Review from Terry Schlossberg

The music was okay but canned. The stage was bare: the set was screens behind dancers and acrobats. The performers were adequate, but the whole thing was far from dazzling. It lacked the wonder of Christmas that you would expect from the ballet....continued

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from D Awn

Russian ballet to Russian music, pre-recorded; seemed very slow and unlike other Nutcrackers from the past; 2nd half had spectacular ballet.

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

I expected a better quality performance from a Russian ballet troupe. The quality of the dancers and the dancing was uneven and the ballerina who played Clara was 20 years too old for the part and past her prime in the quality of her dancing. ...continued

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Armin Bondoc

The dancing was really great but the sets were rather amateurish. Also it felt very mechanical and didn't have much heart in it. But I still enjoyed the dancing.

reviewed Dec 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

We really enjoyed this show. The first half was a bit slow and uninteresting, but the second half more than made up for it. I was disappointed that Masha (Clara) was played by an adult dancer though. Great seats from Goldstar - front row!

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Roy Englert

Good costumes. Disappointing prerecorded music, played too loud. Uneven talent among the dancers: some excellent, some pretty weak (or at least unenthusiastic). The leads were very good.

reviewed Dec 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Nancy Bocskor

Beautiful! The dancers were superb -- and the costumes were magnificent (esp the "King of the Mice").

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Local critic

Great and beutifull show.

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Craftysan

The sets and costumes were gorgeous and the dancing incredible. It was a spectacular production.

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

I missed the presence of a live orchestra and was disappointed that the ballet was set to audio recording.

reviewed Dec 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Sandrabgd

I very much like the Moscow ballet. The perfomance was exellent however there was no live music. We had a very hard time finding the building, parking was terrible, they charged $8 upfront cash or check. When we finally got there we were 20...continued

reviewed Dec 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

The ballet was excellent. In particular the Dove of Peace and Arabian Pas De Deux in Act 2 were amazing.

There was a charge for parking and getting into the parking garage was very congested. So give yourself some extra time if you are...continued

reviewed Dec 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

Amazing show! Goldstar gave me great seats. Certainly will book thru Goldstar again!

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

Excellent performance.

reviewed Dec 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

I loved it!!! I had never been to a ballet and this seemed like the perfect first time event!!!! Everything about it was beautiful and amazing!!!! Can't wait to see it again in the future!!!

reviewed Dec 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

I loved the ballet. It was the first one my 3 daughters and I have ever attended so I don't have anything to compare it to, but we all thought it was magical.

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

It was nice. The costumes were beautiful but it was a smaller production than I expected. The music was not live.

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

The performance was amazing, excellent techniques, great decorations and costumes. The Russian classic ballet remains the best.

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

The seats were awesome. Four rows from the front of center stage. The performance was very professional. The costumes were bright and colorful with lots of sparkle.

reviewed Dec 20 2012 report as inappropriate
Review from sligers

This was a different variation of the Nutcracker than what I had see several years ago. We loved it! The talent of the dancers and the costumes were fantastic. If you want a different version of the Nutcracker, go see the Moscow Ballet.

reviewed Dec 19 2012 report as inappropriate
previous 1