Red 111512
4.3 / 5 Rated by 35 members
Review from Goldstar Member
8 events 5 reviews

Very nice venue - it was my first time there. Great acting; however, I felt the playwright expected the audience to be familar with artists to have a better understanding of this play.

reviewed Feb 10 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Peggy Graham
69 events 39 reviews

The three of us really enjoyed this event. The acting, dialogue, and set, was great.

reviewed Feb 07 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from RickHaffner1
35 events 14 reviews

San Jose Stage's Artistic Director Randall King and actor Aaron Wilton gave awesome performances in this thoughtful, dramatic and deftly acted, directed and designed production. Art isn't pretty... should it ever be? Creation can be exhilarating,...continued

reviewed Feb 15 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Jean Wolman
43 events 13 reviews

Extremely interesting themes in the play; learned much about artistic sensibilities, personalities, and Mark Rothko in particular. Terrific acting.

reviewed Feb 15 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Gary Sanders
12 events 7 reviews

I think it was a tour de force for Randall King, I also agree with the reviewer that Rothko's inner pain doesn't come through as well as it might.

I think Aaron Wilton as Ken did a creditable job!

All in all an excellent production - well...continued

reviewed Feb 09 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Bobby Kushner
23 events 5 reviews

Excellent play and performance by actors. Worth seeing!

reviewed Feb 08 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Beth S.
9 events 4 reviews

Great acting in a wonderfully intimate theater.

reviewed Feb 07 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Barbara B
17 events 3 reviews

Outstanding production of a sensational play.

reviewed Feb 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Des
8 events 2 reviews

Excellent play, engaging and fast paced.

reviewed Feb 07 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Teres
6 events 2 reviews

Outstanding production!! Great job, SJ Stage!

reviewed Feb 20 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Victoria Kline Cosley
4 events 2 reviews

the play was very compelling and moving & the acting & writing was outstanding!

reviewed Feb 09 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Allison Norman
25 events 1 review

Fantastic show! The actor who played Rothko was PHENOMENAL.

reviewed Feb 08 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Anina Marcus
13 events 1 review

stunning performances, magnificent screenplay, beautiful stage.
support local theatre as much as you can

reviewed Feb 17 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Vicky Gou
Red Velvet 85 events 35 reviews

This play was well done... I just found the gravity a bit much at the end of a busy work day. My fault entirely. But well done, all the seats are great. I have been impressed by Stage Theater for sure. I plan to be back for other productions.

reviewed Feb 20 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from K.L.
67 events 49 reviews

This wasn't the San Jose Stage Company's best production, but it still provided good fodder for contemplating the nature of art and creation. I enjoyed that artwork was displayed on stage and that some "painting" even happened live.

A major...continued

reviewed Feb 22 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Joanne Sobel
64 events 29 reviews

The play was interesting to a point but got a bit tedious. It has no intermission & has a lot of screaming & intense emotions. The acting was excellent as usual. All seats in the Stage Theatre are terrific.

reviewed Feb 20 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Dale
24 events 16 reviews

Good, serious drama about art, individuals, and society. Thought provoking and excellent acting.

reviewed Feb 10 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Judy Chamberlin
13 events 7 reviews

Lots of intriguing ideas about art and its significance in this 2-person faceoff. Go a bit early to read the program, which is particularly useful in introducing the plot and themes through the history of the play and the playwright. Performance...continued

reviewed Feb 27 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Terry Favre
14 events 4 reviews

Really enjoyed the acting and venue was easy to find.

reviewed Feb 23 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Kathy Schroeder
5 events 4 reviews

Wonderful, intimate venue. Interesting, well done, plays!

reviewed Feb 23 2013 report as inappropriate
previous 1