Sunsetblvd 011613
4.5 / 5 Rated by 12 members
Review from Nilay Senel-nylund
14 events 7 reviews

Alex theatre show was a disaster. Movie start time was 8 pm, and there was two guest speakers which never mentioned on any where. Both speakers were make up artist and entire 1 hour conversation about their personal stories.
I found this very...continued

reviewed Feb 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from mloomis
2 events 1 review

Great selection to be shown on the big screen. The guest, 95 year old makeup artist Karl Silvera, who actually worked on the film, was utterly charming. I could have listened to him all night.

reviewed Feb 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Fogcatcher
Red Velvet 33 events 16 reviews

The restored Alex Theater in downtown Glendale is a very comfortable venue. This event featured an interview with the make-up artist for the movie (age 95), and added alot to the enjoyment of the movie.

reviewed Feb 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Yvonne Moar
Red Velvet 21 events 7 reviews

it was great to see the movie on screen at an old vaudeville theatre. such a wonderful performance. The Alex Theatre Film Society really outdid themselves by having the makeup artist from the actual film there...can you say movie legend?!!!!

reviewed Feb 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Carole Buss
34 events 18 reviews

The box office was disorganized-- not Goldstar's fault. Enjoyed the show.

reviewed Feb 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Shelley V
53 events 15 reviews

Fantastic event ! What a treat to see this on the big screen!!! Can't wait for Chinatown in April!

reviewed Feb 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Silverlakegil
14 events 8 reviews

We had never seen Sunset Boulevard on the big screen. Without TV editing and interruptions for commercials, the story and performances were powerful. The film should've won the Best Picture Oscar.

reviewed Feb 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Ken
33 events 3 reviews

Only in LA– the opportunity to see one of the best written, directed, acted and filmed movies at a grand old theater. An original cast member introduced the (97 year old!) make up artist, his mentor, prior to the showing. The next day, I passed...continued

reviewed Feb 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Bob Shilland
16 events 2 reviews

A great movie at a gorgeous location! Having a brief Q & A with the currently 95-year old make-up artist for the film was a heart-warming touch.

reviewed Feb 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from becca
5 events 1 review

The Alex Theatre was amazing, so beautiful and elegant. We had a wonderful time and the Glendale area is so fun, we came from Long Beach. There were two guest speakers before the movie started which was interesting but make the evening a bit too...continued

reviewed Feb 16 2013 report as inappropriate