Selected shorts langston hughes 920
4.7 / 5 Rated by 12 members
Review from Ruthann Prange
Red Velvet 45 events 24 reviews

The popular public radio show recorded live in Symphony Space on upper west side- by 1-2-3 subway stop. Great readers/performers who presented the 3 short stories. Though this was a one-time event, they do these readings periodically. Delightful.

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Elene
Red Velvet 62 events 20 reviews

Excellent performances by all 3 actors. Each imbued his/her Langston Hughes short story with personal style and an abundance of talent.

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Bernard Jackson
Red Velvet 50 events 4 reviews

The production consisted of 3 of Langston Hughes' short works. Each performer brought the piece to life in their own way. I sat there thinking how I would have done a verse or two differently. But all in all , I found them thoroughly enjoyable.

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Haynes
54 events 23 reviews

Great evening of "Acted Short Stories"

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Linda
12 events 6 reviews

The program, and the readers, were excellent -- all Selected Shorts programs are worthwhile.
Symphony Space venue is user-friendly. The box office was very helpful in changing our seats to wheelchair access, and suggested I notify Goldstar when...continued

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Sonia Miller-Royster
41 events 6 reviews

The readings were superb. The Readers did a phenomenal job. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Cindy Smith
7 events 3 reviews

Hadn't been to Symphony Space in many years and what a great program to return on. One of the better readings we've been to....but then, how can you go wrong with great stories from Langston Hughes?

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Anna
5 events 3 reviews

It was GREAT readings of Langston Hughes's beautiful short stories. The actors made the readings come alive and dance.
Thanks for a great evening.

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
3 events 2 reviews

A delightful evening with a delightful host, delightful performers and great works.

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Melique Williams
6 events 2 reviews

Fantastic, Entertaining, and Fun

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Inger Hellstrom, Swedish-American reporter and writer.
4 events 2 reviews

I liked the work of all the performers very much as well as the last of the three short stories, Spanish Blood. I thought the other two story choices were less good, perhaps because they seemed to me dated and somehow embarrassing: Seven Rings got...continued

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from RebeccaAnn
18 events 2 reviews

The seating was intimate and very comfortable. The actors were fantastic story tellers! It was a great way to end a day of work.

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
5 events 1 review

It was great

reviewed Apr 03 2013 report as inappropriate