Madama butterfly temp
4.6 / 5 Rated by 61 members
Review from Irene Shreibaum Schatz
11 events 3 reviews

It was extremely easy to pick up the tickets since Goldstar had a separate table for pick up. The seats were on the main floor and were terrific. Madame Butterfly was great.

reviewed Oct 30 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from rcekander
10 events 3 reviews

Pretty good venue. The performance was okay. I'd say 7/10, and that's generous. I know it's an opera, where they project as opposed to microphones, but I thought the vocals were a little low volume. Then again I was in the balcony, so I get what I...continued

reviewed Oct 30 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Gail C. Moss
12 events 3 reviews

Rave reviews from us. Singing, staging were top drawer. We ate at Cocco Pazzo before and had a fabulous meal. We did not know that Lyric has a cab line after the performance so getting a cab is really easy now. Don't miss this one!

reviewed Oct 26 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Kathy M. Prebil Monahan
19 events 3 reviews

The entire experience could not have been better. I love the Lyric and Madame Butterfly - with my so excellent Groupon choice seats - exceeded my expectations. Bravo!

reviewed Oct 18 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from nursegeri
8 events 3 reviews

The set was incredible. A much less elaborate production but the simplicity highlighted the singing and drama.

reviewed Oct 15 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from vladimir,moraru
4 events 3 reviews

Wonderful show. .Very cold inside the opera ....As the opera season mostly in cold season they should change the doors to the rotating kind. would save energy as well

reviewed Jan 14 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Belle
13 events 2 reviews

Amazing performance!!!

reviewed Oct 15 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Krisztina Costea
3 events 2 reviews

Awesome! Great seats!

reviewed Oct 15 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Maureen Davenport
8 events 2 reviews

Great seats.....beautiful opera!

reviewed Oct 18 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Julie Erbe
23 events 2 reviews

My first "live" opera, so I can't give it 5 stars (I may love other productions better or more), but this was certainly a well-performed and beautiful production. Well-cast and very simple yet beautiful sets.

reviewed Oct 15 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Sandra
17 events 2 reviews

Our seats were in the "nosebleed" section. BUT the far distance to the stage was all forgotten once Madama Butterfly started. It was totally captivating, every minute of the 2hrs 45min production. WONDERFUL!

reviewed Oct 30 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
2 events 2 reviews

Seats were great - only about 30 rows back from the orchestra. Found the set a little stark and the costumes lacking in color and richness. The performances were good although there was (what felt like) a 5 minute interlude of orchestral music...continued

reviewed Oct 18 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Toni Lozada
18 events 2 reviews

This was my first opera. My husband took me as part of an anniversary gift. We had a great time! I really enjoyed the performance! I wasn't expecting English sub-titles either...not that I paid much attention. The story was easy to follow...continued

reviewed Oct 26 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Marcia Jacobson Rosenblum
7 events 2 reviews

We loved our experience. Picking up our tickets was easy, our seats were great, and the opera was wonderful.

reviewed Jan 14 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from duckycooper
13 events 2 reviews

Wonderful. So moving. Excellent production!

reviewed Oct 30 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Denise Sigler
9 events 1 review

Absolutely amazing!
We had our own box at the opera and the show was fantastic!

reviewed Oct 18 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Sonia Patterson
5 events 1 review

First time using Goldstar and it was effortless. Great performance and great seats all at a great price!

reviewed Oct 30 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Lulu
8 events 1 review

Good Tickets for the price..opera was amazing..enjoyed

reviewed Oct 30 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Jane Lucido
26 events 1 review

I loved it so much that I went twice!!

reviewed Oct 30 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from natalyker@gmail.com
11 events 1 review

I was a bit apprehensive after reading the opening night reviews, but I loved it. I haven't seen the previous production, so I had nothing to compare it with, but out of the 8 operas I have been to at Chicago Lyric so far, this has been my favorite.

reviewed Oct 26 2013 report as inappropriate