1443659208 house theatre of chicago the nutcracker tickets
4.7 / 5 Rated by 252 members
Review from Kimberly
61 events 17 reviews

A lovely show that manages to get you into the holiday spirit without being overwhelming & cheesy. Great performances by all - and watching the kids (of all ages) in the audience is just as fun as watching the actors on stage!

reviewed Nov 23 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from divaladance
24 events 16 reviews

it was implied that this would be good for kids. In the beginning a man dies and their is a scary mouse king. I think it would be good for 7 and up.

reviewed Nov 22 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Britt Perkins
26 events 14 reviews

It was great!

reviewed Nov 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Marilyn Hie
21 events 14 reviews

Loved the following: Was able to go to the theatre by subway and only had to walk a few feet to get there. Was able to sit in the first row since I am hard of hearing and my hearing aids do not pick up everything. The play was nice.

reviewed Nov 14 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Schuman #1
25 events 14 reviews

The performance was high-energy with the House's signature puppets and familiar theme of good vs. evil. The actors welcomed the audience into the show and held us all spell-bound, from pre-schooler to adult.

reviewed Dec 21 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Lacy
33 events 12 reviews

I've attended multiple years in a row and look forward to attending many more!

reviewed Dec 10 2015 report as inappropriate
Review from Lacy
33 events 12 reviews

This was my 4th year going and 6th attendance overall, I love the show so much it's become part of my holiday tradition to go!!. Absolutely wonderful!!

reviewed Nov 19 2016 report as inappropriate
Review from Jeanne Wells
21 events 11 reviews

Fun, intimate setting. Well acted.

reviewed Nov 30 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Kate Litvak
12 events 8 reviews

A wonderful experimental play with multi-generational appeal. We went with our elementary-school-aged kids. No ballet, no Tchaikovsky's music, and barely any relationship to the original Hoffmann story. Basically an adult play with children's...continued

reviewed Nov 15 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Wunderwoman
15 events 7 reviews

My great niece and I thought this show was terrific. The choreography was outstanding and the cast was excellent. This is an exceptionally good holiday choice for children. Bravo to all involved in the production. It was a fun evening.

reviewed Nov 26 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from OIC
11 events 6 reviews

From the beginning to the end, my daughter who is ten and my older nieces (teens) had big smiles on their faces. We laughed and cried through out the show. It was very entertaining . It was a wonderful experience as a family.

reviewed Nov 06 2015 report as inappropriate
Review from Elaine
20 events 6 reviews

Nutcracker doesn't have to be a ballet, it can be a story and this group does a bang up job of telling a story with a twist.

reviewed Nov 22 2015 report as inappropriate
Review from OIC
11 events 6 reviews

Seeing this show will be our family tradition from now on. We saw it for the first time last year and we fell in love with the show. We returned this year with much excitement and anticipation and they did not disappoint us! We loved it even more...continued

reviewed Nov 04 2016 report as inappropriate
Review from Barbara Whitney
61 events 6 reviews

This show has become my Christmas season tradition (this year was my fourth) and never fails to warm my heart. "Let's bake cookies!"

reviewed Nov 25 2015 report as inappropriate
Review from Barbara Whitney
61 events 6 reviews

This show has become my holiday tradition. It is poignant, fun, clever, joyous, and a whole bunch more good adjectives I could add if I had a few more hours. Huge enjoyment for the whole family!

reviewed Dec 02 2016 report as inappropriate
Review from India Mcclar
14 events 6 reviews

This was a fun and interactive version of the classic. I took my daughter who`s five and she loved it too! The cast was great and the staff at the Chopin was fantastic!

reviewed Nov 13 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from db2186
7 events 6 reviews

Totally unexpected , and extremely talented actors. Had several laughs and also some near tear moments. Bravo! and I am telling my friends!

reviewed Dec 15 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Karla Chavez
19 events 5 reviews

It's a great cast. Music was fantastic. And the set was awesome. But it's the story that was truly amazing! Funny, heart warming, a little sad but uplifting. I loved it!!!!

reviewed Nov 06 2015 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
22 events 5 reviews

Just about everything the House does is wonderful, & this is no exception. You're face will hurt from laughing so hard & then before you know it you'll be on the verge of tears all within the space of a single scene. The performance was attended...continued

reviewed Nov 16 2013 report as inappropriate
Review from Lokietek
5 events 5 reviews

Little sad and a lot of fun! Great Holiday show.

reviewed Nov 30 2014 report as inappropriate