Hamburg ballett 1 920
4.6 / 5 Rated by 30 members
Review from Albert Watts
751 events 435 reviews

My second experience with the Hamburg Ballet at Sergerstrom. Please bring them back soon!

reviewed Feb 07 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Gregory Marconi
102 events 80 reviews

It was great to see the composer, Michel LeGrand there at the curtain call. He is responsible for such great music, like his Oscar winning score from the Thomas Crown Affair ("Windmills of your Mind").

reviewed Feb 07 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from CJ
191 events 55 reviews

Truly an exceptional ballet. LA Times review said it all. Likened it to a danced play.

reviewed Feb 08 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Red
51 events 36 reviews

I have no words. Or, I have a lot of words that don't do any justice. The whole production was hauntingly beautiful. It never ceases to amaze me how ballet, a largely silent medium, can abruptly expose you to a such a wide range of powerful...continued

reviewed Feb 07 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Pauline C.
41 events 30 reviews

This is a beautiful company of dancers, however this particular ballet did not hit all the right chords with me. There was some lovely dancing and music, but the story felt overly complicated and intellectual, and not enough emotional resonance.

reviewed Feb 08 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Donna
30 events 23 reviews

Again, getting ticket at Will Call was a breeze. Seat was in good location. I found the ballet & music to be uneven and repetitive, although many in the audience around me were enthusiastic.

reviewed Feb 07 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from John
57 events 10 reviews

A cross between classic ballet and modern dance, Hamburg Ballett did it again! I just noticed how international this troupe is with only one German dancer in the line up.

reviewed Feb 08 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Eren
20 events 10 reviews

Great seats and the performance was good too. It was the first time the protagonist was from the male perspective. Most (or at least the ones I've seen) are from the female's.

reviewed Feb 07 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from helen freedman
9 events 7 reviews

Full length contemporary ballet...didn't love every minute, but was really happy to see a world class dance performance in Irvine! Kudos to the Segerstom for hosting this event.

reviewed Feb 07 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Marion Renk-Rosenthal
10 events 7 reviews

What a magical night! Liliom was A+ in all aspects: choreography, dance, performance, design and musical store. What a pleasure to see composer Michel LeGrand take a bow on stage with John Neumeier and the whole ballet ensemble. And thanks to...continued

reviewed Feb 07 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from bj ward
9 events 4 reviews

The ballet was great and purchasing the tickets through Goldstar made it so easy when I arrived at the event..

reviewed Feb 07 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from MaureenR
7 events 3 reviews

It is now more then a month after watching the ballet and I still think of it often. The emotional impact of the ending was profound.

reviewed Feb 07 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Pelikan
6 events 1 review

Fabulous! Story, music, and dance combined together into an unexpected gestalt we will always remember.

reviewed Feb 09 2014 report as inappropriate